Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was a good recipe, but I had to add a few things I used 3 tablespoons of ranch. I used a tablespoon of bacon fat to cook the mushrooms and onions to add to the flavor. I added black pepper to the whipped mash potatoes and also some milk because the potatoes were dry. The were a hit at the table my 9 year old Autistic child.It was a hit at the dinner table. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This was very good but I doctored it up. I cooked the bacon, onions and mushrooms together. Then I mashed the potatoes up a bit with the ranch - just so they weren't big pcs. Then I added the potatoes to the bacon mixture in the pan and cooked them for a bit trying to get all of the flavors incorporated into the potatoes. They were good this way but I wish I would have fried them a little more to get the potatoes a little crispy. I would use the ingredients again but change how I cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
my family loved these. I left out the ranch (not a fan) but still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
looking for something fast and this was it. great recipe wife loved it. put in little more bacon and milk instead of ranch. also added green onions, putting this one in the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
they were good i made them with much less onion because i dont like lost of onion however i thought they were very dry as did my husband. would have been great with more ranch or perhaps milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Excellent. I made this for with Garlic Prime Rib recipe for our Christmas Dinner. Perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
These were awesome! Loved them! Great twist on an old favorite. I'll definitely serve these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This recipe is the best!!! I didn't mash the potatos, but I did fry them with the onions, bacon, and mushrooms before adding the dressing. I think I probably tripled the amount of dressing added. I also added plenty of black pepper. My husband said he would eat these every single night if I made them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A big hit with the family! These are a nice change from plain mashed. I also added the onion and mushrooms to the bacon just before it was done. Great flavor. Maybe next time I'll try adding some grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
These potatoes are unbelievably good!! I made them to go with 'Bratwurst, Sauerkraut and Bean Casserole' but ended up having to cook Tater Tots for Husband, because I ate both the servings...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States