Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe was very good! Seems like it was missing something though. Maybe spices, a little salt and pepper. I did add some half and half to make it a bit more creamy. Turned out very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoleskc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My favorite.I didn't have ranch dressing so added cream cheese. As a personal twist, I like to melt a little butter in a small pan, make a large patty , and brown the bottom before serving.This potato tastes great with anything you serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Instead of Ranch dressing, I added sour creme and a little "Mrs. Dash." Turned out great! This will certainly be a staple around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A million stars! I doubled this, used a full pound of bacon, added DRY ranch dressing and folded in half a bag of coleslaw mix that I'd briefly steamed. I also mashed the potatoes with a stick of butter, couple big scoops of sour cream and a little hot milk. Holy frijoles! Incredible side dish. Be careful that you hold yourself back, you'll stuff yourself silly if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good! The bacon can get a tad mushy in the hot potatoes, so you have to really make it crisp before adding. I was out of mushrooms so I added a bit of horseradish for more flavor and zip. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These were great! I didn't have any mushrooms, but I used extra onion and bacon, plus a little extra ranch. I cooked to onion in the bacon grease and really carmelized them. Very good, but next time I'm going to follow the recipe exactly because I love mushrooms and I know it'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Thanks for the recipe! I've made some changes for my taste: Cut potatoes into even smaller sizes, kept bacon leftover oil to cook mushrooms, used green onions instead, added 1 tsp garlic salt & 2-3 tbsp of butter, 2 handfuls of corn, and enough milk to make whole potato mixture silkier. With my changes, even my skeptical Mom (who dislikes new recipes) loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Excellent and very tasty potato recipe! I love the combination of fried onion, mushroom and bacon. I used crumbled bacon instead and fried it with the red onion and mushroom! Other than that, I followed the instructions and added the right amounts for each ingredient and it turned out great! I accompanied this tasty potato dish with Cajun deviled eggs, steamed broccoli covered with a three-cheese sauce and garlic-pepper tenderloin steak. It’s unfortunate the steak was too spicy for my girlfriend; otherwise, it was a great combination especially since we were drinking a great bottle of Malbec (Pascual Toso) from Argentina. Delicious! I will definitely make this great potato recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good recipe! I'm such a sucker for bacon, I added more. I used milk instead of ranch. Got a few compliments at a potluck! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving and what a wonderful change to just normal mashed potatoes. I have tried different recipes for mashed potatoes before and was never a fan but these were so good! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States