Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
A hit! These were great, made them for the kids and grandkids and there were no leftovers. I always make homemade mashed potatoes but these were awesome, like baked without all the extra work. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I added some milk as the potatoes seemed a bit dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was fantastic. But like many others, I added some milk since the mixture was too stiff without it. I also added course ground garlic salt for a little added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
These are now my favorite potatoes!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they were to die for! I'll be making this once a week for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe was very good! Seems like it was missing something though. Maybe spices, a little salt and pepper. I did add some half and half to make it a bit more creamy. Turned out very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Carrell Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My favorite.I didn't have ranch dressing so added cream cheese. As a personal twist, I like to melt a little butter in a small pan, make a large patty , and brown the bottom before serving.This potato tastes great with anything you serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Instead of Ranch dressing, I added sour creme and a little "Mrs. Dash." Turned out great! This will certainly be a staple around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A million stars! I doubled this, used a full pound of bacon, added DRY ranch dressing and folded in half a bag of coleslaw mix that I'd briefly steamed. I also mashed the potatoes with a stick of butter, couple big scoops of sour cream and a little hot milk. Holy frijoles! Incredible side dish. Be careful that you hold yourself back, you'll stuff yourself silly if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good! The bacon can get a tad mushy in the hot potatoes, so you have to really make it crisp before adding. I was out of mushrooms so I added a bit of horseradish for more flavor and zip. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These were great! I didn't have any mushrooms, but I used extra onion and bacon, plus a little extra ranch. I cooked to onion in the bacon grease and really carmelized them. Very good, but next time I'm going to follow the recipe exactly because I love mushrooms and I know it'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States