Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These mashed potatoes are fantastic! I didn't have bacon but I'm sure that would add another degree of yum. As I was mashing them I thought they still looked a little dry so I did double the butter and ranch dressing. They were just creamy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Boy Howdy were these ever delicious! I threw in some chopped red bell pepper also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Excellent! Hubs and I both loved these potatoes, which I served with Classic Meatloaf and Chef John's Mushroom Gravy. It's perhaps just a matter of personal taste, but I think either olive oil, butter or even bacon grease are more flavorful choices than the vegetable oil for cooking the mushrooms and onions. I also added chopped green onion for freshness, color and a little bite, some softened cream cheese and a splash of milk. These are just packed with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was delicious. I added more ranch dressing than what the recipe calls for. I also used turkey bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
DEEEELICIOUS! I more or less eyeballed everything adding some milk to make them more creamy, extra ranch and salt and pepper. I was dying to add some blue cheese, but didn't do it, but I will next time as I think that would make these even better. I used a whole 8oz. pkg. of sliced mushrooms, idaho potatoes and 8 slices of bacon. Will be making these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I couldn't really taste the ranch dressing, but these were still really good. I cooked the onions and mushrooms in leftover bacon grease instead of vegetable oil, and added milk like other reviewers did. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I am new to cooking so I follow recipes to a T. I should have read the reviews first as they were very dry, but from fear of ruining dinner I didn't add anything else to them. (lesson learned lol) In any case, I guess these just aren't for us. My husband was less than impressed and I really didn't care for them either. I love all of the ingredients on their own and thought this would be amazing! Maybe improving the texture would have made all the difference, I'm not sure. But I was certainly dissapointed that I didn't like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcCrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were great mashed potatoes. I realize as I am writing this review, that I did not add the ranch dressing. I did however add 1/4 cup shredded smoked gouda. So very good! I will make as directed next time but this was great! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
these were delicious. I'd make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States