Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Good happy food dish , but i don't use Ranch Dressing , i use sour cream,with rosmary,granulated garlic, onion powder AND i did not wipe out the bacon fat , i saute'd onions & Mushrooms in it w/ a little oil! Oh ps double the bacon ! You'll like it a lot better !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I sautéed the onions and mushrooms in the bacon grease-- turned out awesomely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Excellent recipe! I prefer to use the bacon fat as others suggested for the saute of the mushrooms and onion. I think if people are finding the potatoes dry they may be using a different type of potato, Yukon Gold potatoes don't need as much liquid as, say, russsets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yummy for a change of pace try this recipe. I like having a recipe for mashed potatoes that doesn't have milk in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Amazing! Used Russet potatoes and ended up adding about 1/2c (maybe more) of 1% milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
A little dry and not as flavorful as I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I was really excited for the recipe because who doesn't love bacon and potatoes; however, I was quite disappointed. The onions were overpowering and the potatoes were dry. I compensated by added sour cream and more butter. Also, there wasn't a lot of flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These are really good. I threw in some cheese and folded in some chives. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So yummy! Special treat potatoes though only, definitely not something to be having all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These mashed potatoes are fantastic! I didn't have bacon but I'm sure that would add another degree of yum. As I was mashing them I thought they still looked a little dry so I did double the butter and ranch dressing. They were just creamy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States