Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
A hit! These were great, made them for the kids and grandkids and there were no leftovers. I always make homemade mashed potatoes but these were awesome, like baked without all the extra work. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I added some milk as the potatoes seemed a bit dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was fantastic. But like many others, I added some milk since the mixture was too stiff without it. I also added course ground garlic salt for a little added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
These are now my favorite potatoes!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and they were to die for! I'll be making this once a week for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe was very good! Seems like it was missing something though. Maybe spices, a little salt and pepper. I did add some half and half to make it a bit more creamy. Turned out very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoleskc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My favorite.I didn't have ranch dressing so added cream cheese. As a personal twist, I like to melt a little butter in a small pan, make a large patty , and brown the bottom before serving.This potato tastes great with anything you serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Instead of Ranch dressing, I added sour creme and a little "Mrs. Dash." Turned out great! This will certainly be a staple around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A million stars! I doubled this, used a full pound of bacon, added DRY ranch dressing and folded in half a bag of coleslaw mix that I'd briefly steamed. I also mashed the potatoes with a stick of butter, couple big scoops of sour cream and a little hot milk. Holy frijoles! Incredible side dish. Be careful that you hold yourself back, you'll stuff yourself silly if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good! The bacon can get a tad mushy in the hot potatoes, so you have to really make it crisp before adding. I was out of mushrooms so I added a bit of horseradish for more flavor and zip. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These were great! I didn't have any mushrooms, but I used extra onion and bacon, plus a little extra ranch. I cooked to onion in the bacon grease and really carmelized them. Very good, but next time I'm going to follow the recipe exactly because I love mushrooms and I know it'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States