Mashed Potatoes with Fried Mushroom, Bacon, and Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Instead of Ranch dressing, I added sour creme and a little "Mrs. Dash." Turned out great! This will certainly be a staple around my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
A million stars! I doubled this, used a full pound of bacon, added DRY ranch dressing and folded in half a bag of coleslaw mix that I'd briefly steamed. I also mashed the potatoes with a stick of butter, couple big scoops of sour cream and a little hot milk. Holy frijoles! Incredible side dish. Be careful that you hold yourself back, you'll stuff yourself silly if you aren't careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very good! The bacon can get a tad mushy in the hot potatoes, so you have to really make it crisp before adding. I was out of mushrooms so I added a bit of horseradish for more flavor and zip. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These were great! I didn't have any mushrooms, but I used extra onion and bacon, plus a little extra ranch. I cooked to onion in the bacon grease and really carmelized them. Very good, but next time I'm going to follow the recipe exactly because I love mushrooms and I know it'll be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Thanks for the recipe! I've made some changes for my taste: Cut potatoes into even smaller sizes, kept bacon leftover oil to cook mushrooms, used green onions instead, added 1 tsp garlic salt & 2-3 tbsp of butter, 2 handfuls of corn, and enough milk to make whole potato mixture silkier. With my changes, even my skeptical Mom (who dislikes new recipes) loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Excellent and very tasty potato recipe! I love the combination of fried onion, mushroom and bacon. I used crumbled bacon instead and fried it with the red onion and mushroom! Other than that, I followed the instructions and added the right amounts for each ingredient and it turned out great! I accompanied this tasty potato dish with Cajun deviled eggs, steamed broccoli covered with a three-cheese sauce and garlic-pepper tenderloin steak. It’s unfortunate the steak was too spicy for my girlfriend; otherwise, it was a great combination especially since we were drinking a great bottle of Malbec (Pascual Toso) from Argentina. Delicious! I will definitely make this great potato recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very good recipe! I'm such a sucker for bacon, I added more. I used milk instead of ranch. Got a few compliments at a potluck! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving and what a wonderful change to just normal mashed potatoes. I have tried different recipes for mashed potatoes before and was never a fan but these were so good! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Yum! This is especially good with a little grated smoked cheddar or smoked gouda cheese mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
YUMM!!! Didn't have to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States