Mashed Potatoes and Buttermilk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Yum! I used instant potatoes. I made them as directed and held back a bit on the water by maybe 1/4 or 1/2 cup. Heated it as directed then used a hand blender to blend it adding the buttermilk to get the consistency I wanted. Made them taste more home-made and actually better than the average I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe...one that I have been using for YEARS! Our family originated from Poland, and this recipe came over with my grandmother. The only difference is that while frying the bacon, we add the onion, and then fry the mashed potatoes in the bacon grease. Serve hot, and pour cold buttermilk on top like gravy....these are even better the next day! Great recipe...thanks for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I had some "Gotta-Go" in the fridge so this recipe was perfect. I used chopped canadian bacon and sized the recipe to what I had left of buttermilk. I had to use some butter with my bacon, it didn't have much fat. Really good potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is a great recipe for mashed potatoes. I loved the bacon in them. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Simply the best mashed potatoes I every made. Using buttermilk made the potatoes very fluffy, the bacon added wonderful flavor. I didn't add all the cooked onions in the recipe. I used approx 3 teaspoons which was plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yummy....I used half buttermilk and hald non-fat milk...buttermilk is sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurelWhitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Yum-my. I cut this in half, used sweet onions and a quality smoked bacon I bought from Tacoma Boys. I didn't need quite as much buttermilk as called for. I did add a cut of butter in with a bit of the bacon grease to fry the onion in. Heaven. I served this with Reunion Meatballs and steamed broccoli. Not a healthy meal by any stretch but holy moses, was it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
One of the best mashed potato recipes I have ever made!! The flavor is over-the-top with such few ingredients. I also added salt and pepper to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for two separate dinners this Christmas. I made the first on the day of the dinner and the dish was very good but not outstanding, but I noticed that this dish tasted better the next day so on the the second dinner, I made this the day before and reheated it in the oven on the day of the dinner. Wow it was the best mashed potatoes. The flavours were yummy! I did use less buttermilk. I added it slowly until I achieved the desired consistency and I did not use the buttermilk as a dipping sauce. The bacon really made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
OK - Let's be honest there's nothing really healthy about this recipe and it's a heart attack waiting to happen. But there's times when you just need some comfort food. Right now is one of those times.... I cut the recipe in half and reduced the amount of onion a lot. I added some cracked black pepper and didn't bother with the additional buttermilk on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States