Mashed Potatoes and Buttermilk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
One of the best mashed potato recipes I have ever made!! The flavor is over-the-top with such few ingredients. I also added salt and pepper to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Yum-my. I cut this in half, used sweet onions and a quality smoked bacon I bought from Tacoma Boys. I didn't need quite as much buttermilk as called for. I did add a cut of butter in with a bit of the bacon grease to fry the onion in. Heaven. I served this with Reunion Meatballs and steamed broccoli. Not a healthy meal by any stretch but holy moses, was it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Yummy....I used half buttermilk and hald non-fat milk...buttermilk is sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurelWhitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Simply the best mashed potatoes I every made. Using buttermilk made the potatoes very fluffy, the bacon added wonderful flavor. I didn't add all the cooked onions in the recipe. I used approx 3 teaspoons which was plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is a great recipe for mashed potatoes. I loved the bacon in them. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I had some "Gotta-Go" in the fridge so this recipe was perfect. I used chopped canadian bacon and sized the recipe to what I had left of buttermilk. I had to use some butter with my bacon, it didn't have much fat. Really good potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe...one that I have been using for YEARS! Our family originated from Poland, and this recipe came over with my grandmother. The only difference is that while frying the bacon, we add the onion, and then fry the mashed potatoes in the bacon grease. Serve hot, and pour cold buttermilk on top like gravy....these are even better the next day! Great recipe...thanks for submitting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Yum! I used instant potatoes. I made them as directed and held back a bit on the water by maybe 1/4 or 1/2 cup. Heated it as directed then used a hand blender to blend it adding the buttermilk to get the consistency I wanted. Made them taste more home-made and actually better than the average I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States