Mashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was a good salad and I was glad to find it since I didn't have time to let the potatoes cool like I'd normally need to with potato salad. I used about 3lbs of russet potatoes and only 1/4 cup of mustard. It was still very mustard-y! Left out the green pepper but added a boiled egg. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Mashed potato salad is quite old fashioned and very yummy. I really liked this recipe...just like my Grammy's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I love, love, love this recipe. My potato salad always seems to turn in to mashed anyway so this had a redeeming factor for me along with being one of the best salads I make. It is different. I am always asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This was good, just a little too much mustard as one of the other reviewers stated. I too cut the mustard in half (added a bit of dijon mustard to the regular mustard) and used more mayo & sour cream. Also used dill pickles, we don't care for sweet pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Definitely 5 stars!!! Didn't include the pickles, but recipe perfect for my Easter ham and Polish Sausage. A real hit among my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I've been making this for years and LOVE it. I don't use the pickles though, they are too sweet to add to this wonderful side dish. Try adding some garlic, adds great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idonteatblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Wow! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These are really great. I used to hate potato salad, but I love this hybrid recipe. It tastes best slightly warm, right after its been made. My boyfriend loves them too, especially since the potatoes are smoother and the flavor is more mellow than in everyday potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Changed it up a little. I used all Yukon's, used dill pickles in place of the sweets (noone in this house likes sweet pickles) and omitted the green pepper. I added garlic powder and paprika, too. I'm trying to use what I have on hand, and this salad was really easy to do that with. Plus, it really didn't take that long to throw together. Tasty, and I'm not a fan of potato salad. I tried it warm and just mixed but I thought it might be even better cold when the flavors all melded together. I'll update how it was after we all have a chance to try it. EDITED TO ADD: Thumbs up from both my husband and I. Complimented the steak rub beyond well. My husband said this was almost as good as his mom's potato salad, which is an incredibly high compliment. Nommy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
We love this salad as is but I have tried to make it less fattening by leaving out the butter and the sour cream altogether...still works very well and if you increase the amount of mustard/mayo, the fattening things are not even missed. If you don't have red onion then eschallots are good too. To mash the potatoes I just bashed them about a bit with the wooden spoon after boiling...they tend to mash themselves while working through the other ingredients. This is also great with the addition of finely chopped parsley, chopped hard boiled eggs and green pimento stuffed olives. Tastes even better the following day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States