Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Good. A little too garlicy, but it was good. I think some sauteed mushrooms would be awesome in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Excellent! Made it exactly as stated. Only change I would make is not to cook the onions too brown as they will burn when baking. Leave them a bit pale and they will brown up in the oven. I might make this as a side dish for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was an experiment, not just for us but also for the dinner guest we had this evening – something I would never recommend doing! I got so lucky on this! We didn’t just tolerate this, or even just like it. This was a real hit – for all of us. Fairly even amounts of the potato, rutabaga and parsnips ensured that each would contribute to create a new flavor all its own - and oh, what a wonderful flavor it was. The “icing on the cake” was the caramelized onions on the top. What a rich and lovely finish, but you MUST let them cook slowly for a good, long time until they truly are golden brown and caramelized. I half-heartedly made this as an alternative to mashed potatoes with our roast beef and gravy dinner tonight. While the entire dinner was perfect and delicious, this side dish single-handedly took my dinner from JUST delicious to exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Halved the recipe and omitted the parsnip. You could easily just make this on the stove-top and mix in the caramelized onions. I would add a little milk and butter next time. The rutabaga adds a nice change of flavour to this mashed potato-style dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious! A warm, wintery treat of a side dish. I made it before my husband put a roast in the oven so he was able to pop it in for half an hour at 325 which was the roast's temperature, then he upped it to 375 for 15 minutes while the roast rested. This makes this a flexible side dish to go along with various meats. Excellent! I did end up with two 13x9 pans' worth, though, so next time I'll halve it, although it's hard to find rutabagas under 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlychapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I liked this because it had a different flavor than plain mashed potatoes (which I think are boring), but the rest of the family did not like this! There is a huge pan of it left for me to eat on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Often times I will add either a rutabaga or turnip to my mashed potatoes to give it a deep rich flavor. I liked everything about this recipe except the parsnips. I've discovered that I don't care for parsnips. They gave off a distinct pungent flavor that was easily detectable. Even my husband didn't care for them. If I were to make this again, I would probably add one small parsnip as a slight enhancement to the flavor, but I think the dish would be just fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME. My husband even loved it and he doesn't like rutabagas or parsnips! i did cut back on the parsnips by 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was soooo good! Everyone from the 2 year old to Grandpa loved it. I had planned to cook potatoes, rutabagas and parsnips as side dishes with a roast beef & yorkshire pudding. This is a great dish to combine them in, likely took less time than cooking all 3 and less pots & pans. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States