Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious! A warm, wintery treat of a side dish. I made it before my husband put a roast in the oven so he was able to pop it in for half an hour at 325 which was the roast's temperature, then he upped it to 375 for 15 minutes while the roast rested. This makes this a flexible side dish to go along with various meats. Excellent! I did end up with two 13x9 pans' worth, though, so next time I'll halve it, although it's hard to find rutabagas under 2 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlychapman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I liked this because it had a different flavor than plain mashed potatoes (which I think are boring), but the rest of the family did not like this! There is a huge pan of it left for me to eat on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Often times I will add either a rutabaga or turnip to my mashed potatoes to give it a deep rich flavor. I liked everything about this recipe except the parsnips. I've discovered that I don't care for parsnips. They gave off a distinct pungent flavor that was easily detectable. Even my husband didn't care for them. If I were to make this again, I would probably add one small parsnip as a slight enhancement to the flavor, but I think the dish would be just fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME. My husband even loved it and he doesn't like rutabagas or parsnips! i did cut back on the parsnips by 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was soooo good! Everyone from the 2 year old to Grandpa loved it. I had planned to cook potatoes, rutabagas and parsnips as side dishes with a roast beef & yorkshire pudding. This is a great dish to combine them in, likely took less time than cooking all 3 and less pots & pans. Will definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
loved this. even the picky eaters liked this. great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe inspired me. I didn't have rutabaga. I used turnips. It was so good! I ended up calling it "mish mash" when I was asked what it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was amazing! It was a little involved, but totally worth it and delicious left-over. A meal in itself, really. I also added carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
My husband made this for us and it turned out pretty good. We didn't have a rutabaga so we just left that out. He served it with baked chicken breast and it was a great alternative to plain mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is delicious and it made lots! I used half water and half stock to cook the veggies and it didn't harm the flavor. I also followed the suggestion given and cooked the garlic with the onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States