Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, and Parsnip Casserole with Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
loved this. even the picky eaters liked this. great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe inspired me. I didn't have rutabaga. I used turnips. It was so good! I ended up calling it "mish mash" when I was asked what it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was amazing! It was a little involved, but totally worth it and delicious left-over. A meal in itself, really. I also added carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
My husband made this for us and it turned out pretty good. We didn't have a rutabaga so we just left that out. He served it with baked chicken breast and it was a great alternative to plain mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is delicious and it made lots! I used half water and half stock to cook the veggies and it didn't harm the flavor. I also followed the suggestion given and cooked the garlic with the onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
A big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
yummy! it does take way longer than 15 min to caramelize onions, but I knew that going in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Made this for christmas last year and it was delicious! Everyone loved it and it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
So good! I'm not familiar with these veggies, but I diced them, nice and small, and they were very well done. Instead of draining the broth, I reserved a little and added it to the veggies - no butter required. I used yukon gold potatoes, with the skins still on, and I loved the texture with the other lumpy veggies - they weren't hard, but very smooth, like a chunky applesauce, not smooth like mashed potatoes. The carmelized onions are an absolute must! Although the directions seem a little off - maybe cook on med-high until transparent, not brown. My kids had 3rds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
The rutabaga didn't cook up quite as soft as the other veggies. It still blended up fine, but gave off a slightly lumpy texture as a result. A delicious way to work these healthy root veggies into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States