Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, And Parsnip Casserole With Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I have made this dish for Thanksgiving now four years in a row so I thought it might be time to write a review. My mother-in-law always specifically asks me in advance about whether I am going to make this because she has come to look forward to it. One of our guests this year said it was the best thing on her plate. The parsnips and rutabaga give the potatoes a sweet/savory twist that is really tasty--different but not too different. This year I spaced out and boiled the vegetables in water instead of broth, and it was still as good as ever, so if necessary, you can omit the broth, I think. Caramelized onions really can't be beat, and in this dish they compliment the flavor perfectly. I caramelized a huge vidalia onion this year and it was awesome. I think that this recipe deserves to be a popular favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Fantastic! This is my new dinner party staple. Unable to find parnips, I substituted sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
A great recipe with that distinctive taste of rutabaga. Instead of the parsnips, my wife substituted carrots. Fantastic results. The added flavor and texture of the carrots made it an instant favorite. With the carmelized onions on top and baked till piping hot; it make a great dish to accompany main course such saugage, pork loin, lamb,; etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I accidentally made it with half the butter and we still were talking about how savory and satisfying this dish was. We had left overs and since we aren't vegetarians, we browned up some 93% lean ground beef and shredded 3 oz of Tillamook Cheddar cheese and sprinkled both on top of the left overs and baked it for about 35 minutes and 375 degrees. It was delicious again but in a different way, kind of like a Shepard's Pie. The dish was wonderful and we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I didn't use parsips, used more rutabaga, or the clove but dish was excellent and so healthy! I baked over browned pork chops and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Wow! This was great. I made it exactly to the recipe and everyone loved it. This will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My grocery store was almost out of parsnips so I also added in a white sweet potato. My only other change was that I accidentally put in too much butter...oh darn! This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving! We're adding into into our meal every year and I'll probably make it again soon since I didn't have enough leftovers to satisfy! You must make sure everything is very tender..the potatoes will soften first so be patient. I think I'll broil it right at the end next time to get the top a little more crispy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
What a nice change from your basic mashed potato. Made my only a little chunky. Onions on top is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Was looking for a different mashed potato recipe to serve with our annual New Years Eve Lamb roast and found this one. It was perfect. The only changes I made was to cut back on the butter and instead added a little of the leftover broth to the mashed vegetables. I also sauteed the onion in mostly olive oil with a tablespoon of butter. Just Hubby and I and we loved this, but I plan to make a big batch for my next family potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was an experiment, not just for us but also for the dinner guest we had this evening – something I would never recommend doing! I got so lucky on this! We didn’t just tolerate this, or even just like it. This was a real hit – for all of us. Fairly even amounts of the potato, rutabaga and parsnips ensured that each would contribute to create a new flavor all its own - and oh, what a wonderful flavor it was. The “icing on the cake” was the caramelized onions on the top. What a rich and lovely finish, but you MUST let them cook slowly for a good, long time until they truly are golden brown and caramelized. I half-heartedly made this as an alternative to mashed potatoes with our roast beef and gravy dinner tonight. While the entire dinner was perfect and delicious, this side dish single-handedly took my dinner from JUST delicious to exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States