Mashed Potato, Rutabaga, And Parsnip Casserole With Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Made this tonight and I think I could have eaten the casserole myself! Delish! Did it just as instructed but without the parsnips because I had none....will try again with them. This is so yummy and I highly recommend it even if you've never eaten rutabagas this is THE WAY to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Worked better than expected. Be sure to add plenty of garlic, and 4-6 Crimini mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This has been a mainstay of our holiday meals for the last 4 years. I work as a nurse and the fact that this can be made ahead is priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Got compliments at a holiday dinner. Was a nice alternative to plain mashed potatoes. I likely wouldn't make it frequently since rutabagas are so difficult for me to chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. I make it with the apricot glazed Turkey and it is simply amazing! My favorite and my family looks forward to it each year! Don't skimp on the broth. It's worth using it to boil the veggies! You will fall in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I have made this several times and still find it hard to not eat the whole thing!!!! Since I am just one person, I adjust the amounts accordingly but almost any combo works: today I added carrots because I did not have enough of the others. I also make at least double the amount of caramelized onions because, well, they are so evilly good!!!! You don't really have to "bake" the casserole since the veggies are already cooked. I like the addition of a bit of nutmeg to the mixture. Licking the spoon and the beaters is one of my favorite parts of the recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Absolutely magnificent ! The best mashed potato rutabaga parsnip blend ever. The favors meld together fabulously. Tastes like an upscale 5 star restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I accidentally made it with half the butter and we still were talking about how savory and satisfying this dish was. We had left overs and since we aren't vegetarians, we browned up some 93% lean ground beef and shredded 3 oz of Tillamook Cheddar cheese and sprinkled both on top of the left overs and baked it for about 35 minutes and 375 degrees. It was delicious again but in a different way, kind of like a Shepard's Pie. The dish was wonderful and we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
What a nice change from your basic mashed potato. Made my only a little chunky. Onions on top is a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My grocery store was almost out of parsnips so I also added in a white sweet potato. My only other change was that I accidentally put in too much butter...oh darn! This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving! We're adding into into our meal every year and I'll probably make it again soon since I didn't have enough leftovers to satisfy! You must make sure everything is very tender..the potatoes will soften first so be patient. I think I'll broil it right at the end next time to get the top a little more crispy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States