Mashed Potato Dream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
Interesting combination of flavors. I just made a few minor adjustments to this recipe. Omitted garlic salt and used one fresh garlic clove. I also did not saute' the green onions because I don't really care for them cooked. Also, I like my mashed potatoes very creamy, so I added more milk than indicated. This would be an easy recipe to prepare low fat or even vegan with substitutions. If you are a fan of horseradish and want to try something a little different, this is the recipe for you! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
It tasted okey, but for the work I felt it was eisier just to add a packet of ranch seasonings and tastier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
If you are looking for an alternative to bland regular mashed potatoes...look no further! These are sooooo impressive, like something from a gourmet restraunt. I used fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and added a dash of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
These are some "zippy" mashed potatoes!! My husband and I really liked them! They were easy to prepare. I cut back just a little on the onion and used creamy horseradish. Served with bbq ribs and butter beans fresh tomatoes and peach pie. Would make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was really good! The only thing I did differently was use 2 garlic cloves instead of powder, and cook them in the butter a few minutes before adding the green onions. I used red potatoes (a few extra since they were smaller) and skim milk. I wouldn't add all the milk first like the recipe states; I just splashed some in until it was the right consistency and it wasn't nearly 1/2 cup, probably not even half that. Great with Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
AWESOME! Increased the butter and horseradish as my boyfriend is not a big potato fan, but he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
YUM! I used a clove of garlic instead of powder. This recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Made for thanksgiving. My husband really liked because they had a little zing to them and he likes to try different things. The kids took one taste and that was it. They prefer good old fashioned mashed potatoes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These potatoes were great. Instead of the garlic powder I put a couple of garlic cloves in with the boiling potatoes then just mashed it all together. I didn't have Parmesan so I added cheddar and monterey jack. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Nice change of pace! I stirred in about 1/2 cup chopped chives after mashing the potatoes instead of cooking the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States