Mashed Potato Dream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Deeeelicious! I only sauteed the white parts of the green onion, mixing the rest in at the end to keep them green, then garnished with more. Rather than garlic powder, I tossed a few good sized cloves of garlic in the water to cook with the potatoes. I used probably half again as much horseradish as was called for, and extra butter as well. The Parmesan cheese was a nice touch and is so subtle that my Parmesan cheese hating hubby didn't even notice it. We really enjoyed this and it complemented the roast beef I served it with perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Nice change of pace! I stirred in about 1/2 cup chopped chives after mashing the potatoes instead of cooking the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These potatoes were great. Instead of the garlic powder I put a couple of garlic cloves in with the boiling potatoes then just mashed it all together. I didn't have Parmesan so I added cheddar and monterey jack. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Made for thanksgiving. My husband really liked because they had a little zing to them and he likes to try different things. The kids took one taste and that was it. They prefer good old fashioned mashed potatoes. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
YUM! I used a clove of garlic instead of powder. This recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
AWESOME! Increased the butter and horseradish as my boyfriend is not a big potato fan, but he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamos79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterbury, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This was really good! The only thing I did differently was use 2 garlic cloves instead of powder, and cook them in the butter a few minutes before adding the green onions. I used red potatoes (a few extra since they were smaller) and skim milk. I wouldn't add all the milk first like the recipe states; I just splashed some in until it was the right consistency and it wasn't nearly 1/2 cup, probably not even half that. Great with Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
These are some "zippy" mashed potatoes!! My husband and I really liked them! They were easy to prepare. I cut back just a little on the onion and used creamy horseradish. Served with bbq ribs and butter beans fresh tomatoes and peach pie. Would make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
If you are looking for an alternative to bland regular mashed potatoes...look no further! These are sooooo impressive, like something from a gourmet restraunt. I used fresh garlic cloves instead of garlic powder and added a dash of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
It tasted okey, but for the work I felt it was eisier just to add a packet of ranch seasonings and tastier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States