Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was very good, however, a little on the salty side. I will leave out the additional salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made these as the recipe stated and they were very good but I think they could be a little better. The next time I will use ranch dip instead of french onion. I felt that the french onion flavor was a little strong. I will also add some Parmesean cheese or something like that the next time. Overall a good and easy recipe. I actually made this a head of time and then just put it in the oven before guests arrived and it made for a quick and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Kids loved it, adults were non-committal. I would make it for the kids again (maybe as a thing to keep in the fridge for my eldest who is NEVER EVER full and always looking for something to eat) but not necessarily for a meal - we had a birthday party today, I made it as a test run (I always have a 'new' dish - it's become a tradition) and while the kids inhaled it (including the visiting kids)) the adults weren't impressed. Neither hated it nor loved it. I might try making it adapted w/ real potatoes and cutting back on the onion dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a very tasty version of mashed potatoes and it doesn't require as much work as traditional mashed potatoes. I accidentally left mine lumpy but the time in the oven softened it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Made this for a pot luck today and it was fabulous! A major hit with all the cooks in our group. Missed the posting regarding the pre-made dip, so used French Onion Soup Mix - didn't notice anything missing. Added some shredded cheese and bacon crumbles to the top for additional taste and presentation. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Thank you for a great recipe. I made it just like the recipe, except I forgot to top it with butter. I did however, sprinkle the top with paprika and dry parsley flakes. It made it much more appealing. I served it to a group of about 10 (doubled the recipe) and there was not a lick left. I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Thanks Mary for the note about the refrigerated onion dip in the tub - I was thinking as I read the recipe that it was the package of dry mix as well! My hubby loves mashed potatoes and I decided to try this to put a new spin on things. The recipe was quick and easy and the potatoes were delicious. Thanks again Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
We really liked these. Next time I may use half of the onion dip and replace it with sour cream to tone it down a little for the kids but other than that they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This had a good taste, but the consistency was like eating wallpaper paste!!!! I tried to add more milk but just didn't work for me. Might be better with real mashed potatoes, but will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
My family couldn't get enough of these potatoes! I sub'ed sour cream for cream cheese as some others did and used prepared onion dip right out of the dairy case at the grocer. I thought it would make the dish "soupy" but it didn't and the potatoes weren't dry as some others mentioned. Added a sm. can of french fried onion rings (crushed) to the top, melted butter and poured over. Delish! Next time I'll make sure to have cream cheese on hand. I'm anxious to see if the potatoes come out creamier. Thanks, Mary. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States