Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Kids loved it, adults were non-committal. I would make it for the kids again (maybe as a thing to keep in the fridge for my eldest who is NEVER EVER full and always looking for something to eat) but not necessarily for a meal - we had a birthday party today, I made it as a test run (I always have a 'new' dish - it's become a tradition) and while the kids inhaled it (including the visiting kids)) the adults weren't impressed. Neither hated it nor loved it. I might try making it adapted w/ real potatoes and cutting back on the onion dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a very tasty version of mashed potatoes and it doesn't require as much work as traditional mashed potatoes. I accidentally left mine lumpy but the time in the oven softened it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Made this for a pot luck today and it was fabulous! A major hit with all the cooks in our group. Missed the posting regarding the pre-made dip, so used French Onion Soup Mix - didn't notice anything missing. Added some shredded cheese and bacon crumbles to the top for additional taste and presentation. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Thank you for a great recipe. I made it just like the recipe, except I forgot to top it with butter. I did however, sprinkle the top with paprika and dry parsley flakes. It made it much more appealing. I served it to a group of about 10 (doubled the recipe) and there was not a lick left. I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Thanks Mary for the note about the refrigerated onion dip in the tub - I was thinking as I read the recipe that it was the package of dry mix as well! My hubby loves mashed potatoes and I decided to try this to put a new spin on things. The recipe was quick and easy and the potatoes were delicious. Thanks again Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNYHO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Turrell, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
We really liked these. Next time I may use half of the onion dip and replace it with sour cream to tone it down a little for the kids but other than that they are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This had a good taste, but the consistency was like eating wallpaper paste!!!! I tried to add more milk but just didn't work for me. Might be better with real mashed potatoes, but will not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
My family couldn't get enough of these potatoes! I sub'ed sour cream for cream cheese as some others did and used prepared onion dip right out of the dairy case at the grocer. I thought it would make the dish "soupy" but it didn't and the potatoes weren't dry as some others mentioned. Added a sm. can of french fried onion rings (crushed) to the top, melted butter and poured over. Delish! Next time I'll make sure to have cream cheese on hand. I'm anxious to see if the potatoes come out creamier. Thanks, Mary. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made this casserole yesterday (with a couple of changes), and it was delicious! Instead of the onion dip, I combined a package of Ranch Dressing mix with an 8-ounce carton of sour cream and sprinkled the top of the casserole with French-fried onions in lieu of using the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Oh yum Mary, this was really good. I had leftover mashed potatoes in the freezer which made it even easier than this recipe already is. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States