Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I think this recipe was creamy but a tad on the bland side. I used french onion chip dip and added a bit of Mrs Dash also. My husband said he really couldn't detect much taste other than potatoe and butter. I will maybe double the amount of chip dip next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I don't even like instant mashed potatoes & I loved this!!! I didn't have any onion dip on hand, so i substituted onion soup mix and added extra milk. It turned out great. Next time i will make it with the dip, and see how that works. Definately a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
oh my gosh. SO GOOD. i doubled the recipe, and here's exactly what i used: 2 c milk, 4 eggs, 8 ozs french onion dip, 8 ozs white cheddar bacon dip, 8 ozs lite cream cheese, 8 ozs lite sour cream, only 1 1/3 sticks butter (instead of 2 whole sticks), 4 c water, 6 c flakes, 2 ozs bacon bits, 2 tsp salt. i put it in a 3 qt dish & was concerned it might puff up a lot and spill over, so i put a little in a bowl & microwaved it to see if it'd puff up - it didn't puff up. of course i tried it, and my husband & a friend of ours, and we all thought it was PERFECTION. thanks so much for the recipe, m. ellen! UPDATE: made again with light butter & fat free onion dip (and had to add bacon bits!) and it was still delicious. not as great a texture as the original way, but still REALLY good and will definitely make it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
A holiday dinner go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I dislike potato flakes but had a leftover box that I wanted to useup in a new way. I'm saying this because maybe this recipe just isn't good for those how don't like instant potatoes. I found this recipe to be really gross. I had 1 serving and the rest will be thrown out - and I HATE to waste anything but this just should not be eaten. Obviously a lot of people have enjoyed this recipe, and perhaps I'm a potato snob, but I would say if you just generally dislike potato flakes, this isn't for you. If you do, well eat your heart out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Have been using this recipe for several years and use the recipe as is or I use several variations w/the dip flavors. We love all types, but our favorite is using White Cheddar and Bacon Dip - and I add some bacon bits and some shredded Vermont White Sharp Cheddar. Dee-lish!! And if you want to be really BAD - a little bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good but not great. I liked that I could make it ahead of time and keep in the fridge until needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Sirianni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very quick and easy and quite tasty. Feeding just two for supper, I halved the recipe, but rather than using half a container each of cream cheese and onion dip, I just used one whole (8 oz) tub of the Chive & Onion Cream Cheese. Added about 1/4 cup of bacon bits too. I will definitely make this again. It will probably be on my holiday side dish list since it can be made up ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Made these for dinner tonight, lucky for me my SO is a good sport about new recipes. I followed this recipe to the letter, and it turned out awful. Was way to soupy. I will add more Potato Flakes and freeze these and try again another day. Don not think I will be making these again. Sorry Mary, I was so looking forward to these after reading all the great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have made this so many times and it alwasys turns out great. I sometimes use 8z sour cream (instead of onion dip) then I add 1 tsp. of onion powder or 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I also use a stand mixer before I pour everything in the casserole dish and it turns out very smooth and creamy. Everyone loves it and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States