Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I think this recipe was creamy but a tad on the bland side. I used french onion chip dip and added a bit of Mrs Dash also. My husband said he really couldn't detect much taste other than potatoe and butter. I will maybe double the amount of chip dip next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I don't even like instant mashed potatoes & I loved this!!! I didn't have any onion dip on hand, so i substituted onion soup mix and added extra milk. It turned out great. Next time i will make it with the dip, and see how that works. Definately a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
oh my gosh. SO GOOD. i doubled the recipe, and here's exactly what i used: 2 c milk, 4 eggs, 8 ozs french onion dip, 8 ozs white cheddar bacon dip, 8 ozs lite cream cheese, 8 ozs lite sour cream, only 1 1/3 sticks butter (instead of 2 whole sticks), 4 c water, 6 c flakes, 2 ozs bacon bits, 2 tsp salt. i put it in a 3 qt dish & was concerned it might puff up a lot and spill over, so i put a little in a bowl & microwaved it to see if it'd puff up - it didn't puff up. of course i tried it, and my husband & a friend of ours, and we all thought it was PERFECTION. thanks so much for the recipe, m. ellen! UPDATE: made again with light butter & fat free onion dip (and had to add bacon bits!) and it was still delicious. not as great a texture as the original way, but still REALLY good and will definitely make it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
A holiday dinner go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I dislike potato flakes but had a leftover box that I wanted to useup in a new way. I'm saying this because maybe this recipe just isn't good for those how don't like instant potatoes. I found this recipe to be really gross. I had 1 serving and the rest will be thrown out - and I HATE to waste anything but this just should not be eaten. Obviously a lot of people have enjoyed this recipe, and perhaps I'm a potato snob, but I would say if you just generally dislike potato flakes, this isn't for you. If you do, well eat your heart out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Have been using this recipe for several years and use the recipe as is or I use several variations w/the dip flavors. We love all types, but our favorite is using White Cheddar and Bacon Dip - and I add some bacon bits and some shredded Vermont White Sharp Cheddar. Dee-lish!! And if you want to be really BAD - a little bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Good but not great. I liked that I could make it ahead of time and keep in the fridge until needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Sirianni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Very quick and easy and quite tasty. Feeding just two for supper, I halved the recipe, but rather than using half a container each of cream cheese and onion dip, I just used one whole (8 oz) tub of the Chive & Onion Cream Cheese. Added about 1/4 cup of bacon bits too. I will definitely make this again. It will probably be on my holiday side dish list since it can be made up ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Made these for dinner tonight, lucky for me my SO is a good sport about new recipes. I followed this recipe to the letter, and it turned out awful. Was way to soupy. I will add more Potato Flakes and freeze these and try again another day. Don not think I will be making these again. Sorry Mary, I was so looking forward to these after reading all the great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I have made this so many times and it alwasys turns out great. I sometimes use 8z sour cream (instead of onion dip) then I add 1 tsp. of onion powder or 1 tsp. of garlic powder. I also use a stand mixer before I pour everything in the casserole dish and it turns out very smooth and creamy. Everyone loves it and it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States