Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Hi! I'm Mary, the person who sent in the recipe. I read some of the reviews and I hope people understood that the onion dip used is the ready made kind that you buy in the refigerated section of the grocery store. I use an 8 ounce container. It is not the dry soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made this casserole yesterday (with a couple of changes), and it was delicious! Instead of the onion dip, I combined a package of Ranch Dressing mix with an 8-ounce carton of sour cream and sprinkled the top of the casserole with French-fried onions in lieu of using the margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I opt. for 8 oz light sour cream vs. the onion dip. Also use light cream cheese and cut the butter down to 1/4 a cup...I have had it all different ways, very yummy and much faster than cubing/boiling etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
Love this! I'm weird- I like instant mashed potatoes better than real! So I knew I had to try this recipe. After reading the reviews, I decided to use 1 1/3 c. milk. It worked out great. Baked 30 min. I also used my electric mixer to blend the cream cheese mixture, as well as after putting it all together. I might try the sour cream/onion powder thing next time to make it totally smooth. But it's terrific the way it is!UPDATE: I used 3 cups of water & 1 1/2 c. milk this time. I also put the dip, eggs, & cream cheese in the blender to make it smooth! Even better this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I made this recipe for a large family Christmas gathering. It was very good and everyone kept going on about how good it was. The only bad thing...the recipe calls for one "PACKAGE" of onion dip. That confused me and I accidentally bought a small package of the "make your own dip". The recipe should read...1 8oz "CONTAINER" onion dip. Other than that, it was a great hit and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
My family couldn't get enough of these potatoes! I sub'ed sour cream for cream cheese as some others did and used prepared onion dip right out of the dairy case at the grocer. I thought it would make the dish "soupy" but it didn't and the potatoes weren't dry as some others mentioned. Added a sm. can of french fried onion rings (crushed) to the top, melted butter and poured over. Delish! Next time I'll make sure to have cream cheese on hand. I'm anxious to see if the potatoes come out creamier. Thanks, Mary. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I've made this several times now, and it never lasts long. Rather than 8 oz. of onion dip, I just use a 1.5 oz. packet of dry onion chip dip mix. This is a delicious side dish, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Since I was doing all the cooking this Thanksgiving, I wanted to save time on preparing somethings so I chose this recipe...NOBODY knew they were instant mashed potatoes and I didn't mention it until dinner was finished...I did make a couple of changes though, instead of cream cheese I used sour cream and I didn't have any soup mix so I just omitted this step...they were still delicious! A Keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Awesome new way to make mashed potatoes!! Just be sure that the baking dish is well greased as it tends to stick but overall very tasty! Next time, I'm going to double the recipe so we all get our fill!! Thank you Mary and your mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
oh my gosh. SO GOOD. i doubled the recipe, and here's exactly what i used: 2 c milk, 4 eggs, 8 ozs french onion dip, 8 ozs white cheddar bacon dip, 8 ozs lite cream cheese, 8 ozs lite sour cream, only 1 1/3 sticks butter (instead of 2 whole sticks), 4 c water, 6 c flakes, 2 ozs bacon bits, 2 tsp salt. i put it in a 3 qt dish & was concerned it might puff up a lot and spill over, so i put a little in a bowl & microwaved it to see if it'd puff up - it didn't puff up. of course i tried it, and my husband & a friend of ours, and we all thought it was PERFECTION. thanks so much for the recipe, m. ellen! UPDATE: made again with light butter & fat free onion dip (and had to add bacon bits!) and it was still delicious. not as great a texture as the original way, but still REALLY good and will definitely make it again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States