Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very easy--which I appreciated. To make it a little lighter, I only used a scant quarter cup of reduced-fat sour cream and a scant quarter cup of plain fat free yogurt. I only used a pinch of salt. To add a little more flavor, I did stir in a teaspoon each of onion/garlic powder. The french fried onions and bacon on the top was awesome. We ate every bit of this. GREAT with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The potatoes were really good. I will mix the bacon and onions into the potatoes next and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Was a huge hit with the family! Very tasty dish to go with about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SParlow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This makes up ahead of time really well. I took it up to the point of baking, the day before Thanksgiving and I cooked and crumbled bacon and left in plastic baggie the day before as well. Thanksgiving day pulled it out of refrigerator an hour before placing in oven, added about a 1/4 of milk and mixed, then cooked for 30 minutes at 325 then topped with additional cheddar, bacon and onion rings, cooked for another 5 minutes then turned off oven and let it sit there until time to put it on the table ( another 30 minutes ). Rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I doubled the recipe and it fit into a 9 X 13 casserole dish perfectly. I didn't quite have the full two cups of sour cream but really it was just fine with less. I didn't pre-melt the butter, just put a room temperature stick in and mashed with the potato masher. I put the garden fresh chives and crispy bacon in the potatoes and then topped with a bit more cheddar and the french fried onions the last five minutes of baking. (Just a tip, boil the potatoes in chicken broth for added extra flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
DELICIOUS! Simple, easy to put together and was enjoyed by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe earned rave reviews from my kids, my wife, and my mother in law! It was very easy to make and tastes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This meal was awesome. All my kids and husband ate this!!!! I did do a twist. I did not add any salt (because of butter already having it). We had left over mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving used those and made some new. I also had some ham that had pineapple in it. I put half potatoes down, Then sprinkled pepper, put ham and corn and cheese. Then put the other half of potatoes over top with just a little cheese. Finished off like recipe called. Not the most healthy, however when you have 3 of 4 kids that are boys, this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
VERY rich! Would only add half the butter and half sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This was fantastic - to make it not quite so unhealthy, I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream. After his first bite, my boyfriend asked, "oh yum - does this have sour cream in it?" - you really can't tell the difference. Definitely will make again and do the same thing. I used the full amount of butter but a little less cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States