Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Was a huge hit with the family! Very tasty dish to go with about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SParlow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very easy--which I appreciated. To make it a little lighter, I only used a scant quarter cup of reduced-fat sour cream and a scant quarter cup of plain fat free yogurt. I only used a pinch of salt. To add a little more flavor, I did stir in a teaspoon each of onion/garlic powder. The french fried onions and bacon on the top was awesome. We ate every bit of this. GREAT with meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
DELICIOUS! Simple, easy to put together and was enjoyed by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
The potatoes were really good. I will mix the bacon and onions into the potatoes next and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
VERY rich! Would only add half the butter and half sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very easy and quick and tastes great! I used reduced fat sour cream and still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This meal was awesome. All my kids and husband ate this!!!! I did do a twist. I did not add any salt (because of butter already having it). We had left over mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving used those and made some new. I also had some ham that had pineapple in it. I put half potatoes down, Then sprinkled pepper, put ham and corn and cheese. Then put the other half of potatoes over top with just a little cheese. Finished off like recipe called. Not the most healthy, however when you have 3 of 4 kids that are boys, this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe earned rave reviews from my kids, my wife, and my mother in law! It was very easy to make and tastes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Kids were eating this one before it was even finished. Very easy to make. I sprinkled cheese on top of the potato with the bacon and fried onions, was a huge success even with my picky daughter who doesn't like bacon or onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I doubled the recipe and it fit into a 9 X 13 casserole dish perfectly. I didn't quite have the full two cups of sour cream but really it was just fine with less. I didn't pre-melt the butter, just put a room temperature stick in and mashed with the potato masher. I put the garden fresh chives and crispy bacon in the potatoes and then topped with a bit more cheddar and the french fried onions the last five minutes of baking. (Just a tip, boil the potatoes in chicken broth for added extra flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States