Mashed Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Very easy and quick and tastes great! I used reduced fat sour cream and still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I doubled the recipe and it fit into a 9 X 13 casserole dish perfectly. I didn't quite have the full two cups of sour cream but really it was just fine with less. I didn't pre-melt the butter, just put a room temperature stick in and mashed with the potato masher. I put the garden fresh chives and crispy bacon in the potatoes and then topped with a bit more cheddar and the french fried onions the last five minutes of baking. (Just a tip, boil the potatoes in chicken broth for added extra flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This makes up ahead of time really well. I took it up to the point of baking, the day before Thanksgiving and I cooked and crumbled bacon and left in plastic baggie the day before as well. Thanksgiving day pulled it out of refrigerator an hour before placing in oven, added about a 1/4 of milk and mixed, then cooked for 30 minutes at 325 then topped with additional cheddar, bacon and onion rings, cooked for another 5 minutes then turned off oven and let it sit there until time to put it on the table ( another 30 minutes ). Rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This meal was awesome. All my kids and husband ate this!!!! I did do a twist. I did not add any salt (because of butter already having it). We had left over mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving used those and made some new. I also had some ham that had pineapple in it. I put half potatoes down, Then sprinkled pepper, put ham and corn and cheese. Then put the other half of potatoes over top with just a little cheese. Finished off like recipe called. Not the most healthy, however when you have 3 of 4 kids that are boys, this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Kids were eating this one before it was even finished. Very easy to make. I sprinkled cheese on top of the potato with the bacon and fried onions, was a huge success even with my picky daughter who doesn't like bacon or onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was really good and so simple to make up ahead of time. You can get it ready and then refrigerate it and cook it just before you need it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My family loved this dish. It tastes just like a loaded baked potato, but better. You don't have to put out all those toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe earned rave reviews from my kids, my wife, and my mother in law! It was very easy to make and tastes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious! Not very healthy though. I didn't make any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made it for Christmas and everyone raved about how delicious it was! I only added butter, salt and cheddar inside and put the rest of cheese, bacon, and French onions on top. I rested foil on top so the French onions wouldn't burn. I let people add fresh minced chives and sour cream on top of their portions. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States