Mashed Maple Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is really outstanding. I have made it multiple times and have modified it to be slightly less rich. I add an extra sweet potato (5 total), cut the butter to 5 T., use just 1 T. of vanilla, add an extra egg, and omit the 1 c. of pecans from the dish (I still use the 1/4 c. pecans on top). It is great as written, but it is still really rich & flavorful with the cutbacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
If you leave out the eggs there's no reason to put this back in the oven. Beat the potatoes while they're hot with the other ingredients and take the dish straight to the table. I used milk rather than cream, as it was what I had on hand. The maple flavor really comes through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
The best sweet potatoes I have ever tasted. Even better than my mother's. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. I will be making this for MANY years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Boaz, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
fantastic!! Super sweet though. I recommend a little less brown sugar and vanilla extract (they are sweet potatoes after all) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Delicious! Substitutions were made, however. Walnuts for pecans, milk for cream, and honey + a splash of molasses for maple syrup. I imagine pecans and maple syrup would have made this to die for. Oh, and I cut down the total sugar + honey to 2/3 cup, but it still came out nice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made this with my traditional Thanksgiving dinner last year. This week I needed some easy to prepare comfort food and went straight for this recipe. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I have been looking for a awesome sweet potato casserole recipe and I have now found it. I think it is the maple syrup that makes this crazy good! I did not make any changes to this recipe - it does not need any altering in my opinion! I fixed this for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it and begged me to bring it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Pretty good. not as good as I thought they'd be. I don't think I prefer my sweet potatoes mashed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Big Hit! Even those who don't normally eat sweet potatoes can't stop talking about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I made these for a work potluck. It turned out great just remember to not over cook the potatoes and to let them cool before shredding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

See how to make crispy baked sweet potato chips with a cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States