Mashed Cauliflower and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is great-tasting, super-easy to make, and a fabulous way to disguise nutritious vegetables for picky eaters. I turned it into a bake and was very happy with a few modifications (as @friskyspatula originally recommended). For our vegetables, I used frozen cauliflower (16 oz), a broccoli/cauliflower/carrot medley (10 oz), and tri-color carrots (10 oz), which made it an unintentional, but interesting purple color overall. I left the rest of the base alone except for substituting a tablespoon of red wine vinegar (instead of a 1/4 cup) and adding a tablespoon of cayenne pepper for a kick. While mashing, I added a handful of shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese (I didn't blend because I thought it would make the purple blob I was creating more presentable). After placing it in a square glass baking dish (8x8), I topped it with a layer of shredded part-skim mozzarella, some bacon, and Italian seasoning and baked it at 375 for 15 min. Next time I might add chives to bake, but otherwise, I thought it was unexpectedly delicious. I didn't take a picture because I hadn't planned on getting such great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I thought this was pretty tasty for something different. I used fresh instead of frozen veggies and only a splash of vinegar for our taste but otherwise followed the recipe. My kids did not eat it (7 and 10) and my husband didn't really care for it either. Not sure I will make it again if I am the only one that will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I was going for the Mac and Cheese flavor so I kept adding butter until it was creamy. :) I substituted plain yogurt for sour cream and kept adding it and extra apple cider vinegar until it had a tangy bite to it, like sharp cheddar cheese. I also added a little turmeric and mustard powder. My friends all asked for the recipe. Also used fresh instead of frozen; basically same prep instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Very bland. Try adding something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome recipe! I couldn't stop eating it, and while it was very healthy my husband said it had the good "fattening taste" but without same numbers of carbs and calories. Great way to get him eating carrots too. And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this as a side dish & thought it was awesome! So very tasty....I ate the leftovers solo the following day :) I highly recommend giving it a try & will most definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe is delicious and so easy to make. I did it a little differently. I used fresh match stick carrots and cauliflower. I boiled the carrots and steamed the cauliflower. Used less vinegar. It was such a crowd pleaser! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My kids went crazy for this! OMG! They asked me to make it again tomorrow. lol... Thank you for this wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Lin Conley-Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband, however, wasn't a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States