Mashed Cauliflower and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I agree with the recipe poster - this really does have a unique flavor. I can see this not appealing to everyone, but I thought it was quite good. Hubby thought it was just ok. It has a nice tang from the vinegar and sour cream. The first time I make a recipe, I always make it exactly as written. I would suggest not trying to mash these by hand...it was next to impossible. I even tried my hand mixer and the veggies were very hard to mash. Next time I will use my food processor. I cooked the frozen veggies for well over the 15 mins stated. I think next time I will also use fresh veggies instead. They tend to mash a lot easier and don't retain as much water as frozen veggies. When I first threw in the ingredients, everything was very watery. Once mixed though, it tends to thicken up. I enjoyed the flavor and found the amount of seasonings to be just right. This is great for my low carb diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I like the concept of this recipe. I used half the amount of apple cider vinegar, which I recommend, especially if you are not a vinegar fan. This is a good base recipe that you can add other seasonings to. Parsley worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dreiling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I was going for the Mac and Cheese flavor so I kept adding butter until it was creamy. :) I substituted plain yogurt for sour cream and kept adding it and extra apple cider vinegar until it had a tangy bite to it, like sharp cheddar cheese. I also added a little turmeric and mustard powder. My friends all asked for the recipe. Also used fresh instead of frozen; basically same prep instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe is delicious and so easy to make. I did it a little differently. I used fresh match stick carrots and cauliflower. I boiled the carrots and steamed the cauliflower. Used less vinegar. It was such a crowd pleaser! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I loved this creamy healthy side. I only used 1 T vinger and 1/2 cup sour cream with water added to get desired consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used fresh steamed vegetables, and added a little mustard for flavor instead of the vinegar. Not the prettiest thing to serve, but it's fairly healthy and low carb. I enjoyed it, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarianforllife
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is great-tasting, super-easy to make, and a fabulous way to disguise nutritious vegetables for picky eaters. I turned it into a bake and was very happy with a few modifications (as @friskyspatula originally recommended). For our vegetables, I used frozen cauliflower (16 oz), a broccoli/cauliflower/carrot medley (10 oz), and tri-color carrots (10 oz), which made it an unintentional, but interesting purple color overall. I left the rest of the base alone except for substituting a tablespoon of red wine vinegar (instead of a 1/4 cup) and adding a tablespoon of cayenne pepper for a kick. While mashing, I added a handful of shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese (I didn't blend because I thought it would make the purple blob I was creating more presentable). After placing it in a square glass baking dish (8x8), I topped it with a layer of shredded part-skim mozzarella, some bacon, and Italian seasoning and baked it at 375 for 15 min. Next time I might add chives to bake, but otherwise, I thought it was unexpectedly delicious. I didn't take a picture because I hadn't planned on getting such great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I thought this was pretty tasty for something different. I used fresh instead of frozen veggies and only a splash of vinegar for our taste but otherwise followed the recipe. My kids did not eat it (7 and 10) and my husband didn't really care for it either. Not sure I will make it again if I am the only one that will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome recipe! I couldn't stop eating it, and while it was very healthy my husband said it had the good "fattening taste" but without same numbers of carbs and calories. Great way to get him eating carrots too. And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this as a side dish & thought it was awesome! So very tasty....I ate the leftovers solo the following day :) I highly recommend giving it a try & will most definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States