Mashed Cauliflower and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I agree with the recipe poster - this really does have a unique flavor. I can see this not appealing to everyone, but I thought it was quite good. Hubby thought it was just ok. It has a nice tang from the vinegar and sour cream. The first time I make a recipe, I always make it exactly as written. I would suggest not trying to mash these by hand...it was next to impossible. I even tried my hand mixer and the veggies were very hard to mash. Next time I will use my food processor. I cooked the frozen veggies for well over the 15 mins stated. I think next time I will also use fresh veggies instead. They tend to mash a lot easier and don't retain as much water as frozen veggies. When I first threw in the ingredients, everything was very watery. Once mixed though, it tends to thicken up. I enjoyed the flavor and found the amount of seasonings to be just right. This is great for my low carb diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I used fresh steamed vegetables, and added a little mustard for flavor instead of the vinegar. Not the prettiest thing to serve, but it's fairly healthy and low carb. I enjoyed it, and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegetarianforllife
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I loved this creamy healthy side. I only used 1 T vinger and 1/2 cup sour cream with water added to get desired consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I like the concept of this recipe. I used half the amount of apple cider vinegar, which I recommend, especially if you are not a vinegar fan. This is a good base recipe that you can add other seasonings to. Parsley worked great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dreiling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. My husband, however, wasn't a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My kids went crazy for this! OMG! They asked me to make it again tomorrow. lol... Thank you for this wonderful idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyRockabilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This recipe is delicious and so easy to make. I did it a little differently. I used fresh match stick carrots and cauliflower. I boiled the carrots and steamed the cauliflower. Used less vinegar. It was such a crowd pleaser! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this as a side dish & thought it was awesome! So very tasty....I ate the leftovers solo the following day :) I highly recommend giving it a try & will most definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome recipe! I couldn't stop eating it, and while it was very healthy my husband said it had the good "fattening taste" but without same numbers of carbs and calories. Great way to get him eating carrots too. And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States