Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
i was so excited when i found this recipe, only to be disappointed when i tried it. i'm sorry but the taste is a far cry from the real thing! the cream cheese is way dominated the taste, sour and salty. that's just not how it should be, sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This tasted too much like cream cheese. In order to get rid of the taste I added and extra tablespoon of butter and two tablespoons of sour cream. It helped a bit. Luckily in Germany, mascarpone is not expensive as in NA, so I think I will keep using the real thing. Thanks, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Easy, delicious and money saving substitute. No one even noticed or suspected that there was no real mascarpone cheese in the tiramisu. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I really like this recipe. I was able to find mascarpone in the store but it was something like $9 a tub so I decided to try this. I doubled the butter (which helped get rid of the tang from the cream cheese). I also added a little sugar and vanilla to add some sweetness and flavor. I pretty much just kept tasting it till it was what I was looking for. I used it for a cheesecake recipe and it was awesome. I've also since used it as a filling for stuffed french toast and it turned out delicious! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schultzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Thank Heaven! I have been looking for this recipe so I could make my tiramisu. I live in a small town where the marsacarpone cheese is impossible to find. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I used some other mascarpone substitutes but this is the best one!!!...Easy to make, very delicious in taste and lower in costs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cappuccinoFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Thank you sooooo much for sharing this with those of us who live in tiny towns that don't sell mascarpone! Not a single person knew I substituted this when they raved about my tiramisu (also from this site). I will never travel 70 miles to spend $9 a tub again!! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This worked great in the Classic Tiramisu recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This was VERY easy to use and tasted delicious. Unfortunately I've never tasted mascarpone cheese since I've never been able to find it in my grocery store, so I can't compare the two. Thanks for sharing this. It was a HUGE help when making the Tiramisu layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Delicious and cheap. Better than the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States