Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This is a good substitute! The recipe I wanted to use this is called for adding sugar and coffee liquor in the mascarpone cheese, so mine came out a little watery. I had to keep it in the fridge for a while, but I think this is still a more easily available substitute for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Yummy! Used in the Tiramisu Layer Cake recipe on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Thank you sooooo much for sharing this with those of us who live in tiny towns that don't sell mascarpone! Not a single person knew I substituted this when they raved about my tiramisu (also from this site). I will never travel 70 miles to spend $9 a tub again!! Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This was VERY easy to use and tasted delicious. Unfortunately I've never tasted mascarpone cheese since I've never been able to find it in my grocery store, so I can't compare the two. Thanks for sharing this. It was a HUGE help when making the Tiramisu layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Delicious and cheap. Better than the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great. I have never been able to find real mascarpone cheese. I have only had it in restaurants. I could not tell the difference, and I used it several different recipes... Thank you so much>>>>>>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Too much like cream cheese, we'll stick to making our own mascarpone cheese at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Easy, delicious and money saving substitute. No one even noticed or suspected that there was no real mascarpone cheese in the tiramisu. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
In my area, I have a hard time finding marscapone sometimes, so this is a very worthy substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Cheesy-Crust Skillet Pizza

You have to try this grain-free pizza with a one-ingredient crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States