Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
A great money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this to use in "Classic Tiramisu." It worked very well in that recipe. I'd definitely use it again in recipes calling for mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Recently bought some mascarpone--ouch! $12/lb. When making this, be sure to use UNSALTED butter (to the person who said the recipe was salty). Salted butter can contain varying amounts of salt. This is a good substitute when I get a craving for Tiramisu without having to take out a home equity loan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
very nice where I live it is about 20.00 dollars for one package of Mascarpone this helped alot since I only have 10.00 $s on me right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good. I used this for the Tiramisu Layer Cake on this site since I couldn't find mascarpone in my town. Worked great thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Easy to make and worked as base for banana frosting. I beat in 1 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 mashed banana mashed with a little lemon juice, 1/2 stick butter, and a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I used some other mascarpone substitutes but this is the best one!!!...Easy to make, very delicious in taste and lower in costs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cappuccinoFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
i was so excited when i found this recipe, only to be disappointed when i tried it. i'm sorry but the taste is a far cry from the real thing! the cream cheese is way dominated the taste, sour and salty. that's just not how it should be, sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
i used this as i cant find mascarpone in my country.was really good.i loved the taste.thx u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This worked wonderfully for my Tiramisu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States