Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I'm not sure what Mascarpone cheese is suppose to taste like (I could'nt find it at my local grocery store) but the dish I used this recipe for tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent. Will use this again. No changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Outstanding! I used this recipe today for my tiramisu filling. I recommend the recipe as is and would not change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Sorry, but this taste like cream cheese which has too much "tang" to it compared to mascarpone. Not as lush & creamy either. I would only use this sub if there were no mascarpone in town. I love the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Perfect substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This did work in a pinch for me but you can taste the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe. All the stores in my area were OUT of mascarpone (been waiting for a week for them to get more in). Drove me nuts as I was really wanting to try a tiramisu recipe I found! Anyway, I did not have cream cheese but I had neufchatel cheese so I used that and unsalted butter. The taste was great! If I had not found this recipe, I would have eaten the ladyfingers I purchased with some strong coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boltsbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I thought this worked out really well! I mean, it's not the same as actual mascarpone cheese, but in a pinch, it serves the purpose well. Another thing I liked about this recipe is that mascarpone is sooooo expensive and I ALWAYS have these ingredients on hand, so it totally works for me! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made a fancy mac 'n' cheese a few weeks ago and it called for mascarpone. I vaguely understood what mascarpone was and was quite shocked to see how pricey this stuff is at the grocery store. So, luckily I found this substitute and it worked very well. Easy, inexpensive, creamy, perfect. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Since I have never tasted the real mascarpone, I cannot make a very good comparison. The overall tiramisu tasted good but you can definitely taste the cream cheese in the recipe. Next time I will try to look harder in the supermarket and try the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States