Mascarpone Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Good substitute in a pinch. I used it for Tiramisu and my family didn't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I'm not sure what Mascarpone cheese is suppose to taste like (I could'nt find it at my local grocery store) but the dish I used this recipe for tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Excellent. Will use this again. No changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Outstanding! I used this recipe today for my tiramisu filling. I recommend the recipe as is and would not change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Sorry, but this taste like cream cheese which has too much "tang" to it compared to mascarpone. Not as lush & creamy either. I would only use this sub if there were no mascarpone in town. I love the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Perfect substitute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This did work in a pinch for me but you can taste the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe. All the stores in my area were OUT of mascarpone (been waiting for a week for them to get more in). Drove me nuts as I was really wanting to try a tiramisu recipe I found! Anyway, I did not have cream cheese but I had neufchatel cheese so I used that and unsalted butter. The taste was great! If I had not found this recipe, I would have eaten the ladyfingers I purchased with some strong coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boltsbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I thought this worked out really well! I mean, it's not the same as actual mascarpone cheese, but in a pinch, it serves the purpose well. Another thing I liked about this recipe is that mascarpone is sooooo expensive and I ALWAYS have these ingredients on hand, so it totally works for me! I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I made a fancy mac 'n' cheese a few weeks ago and it called for mascarpone. I vaguely understood what mascarpone was and was quite shocked to see how pricey this stuff is at the grocery store. So, luckily I found this substitute and it worked very well. Easy, inexpensive, creamy, perfect. I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Affogato with Cold-Brewed Coffee

See how to make an amazing hot weather ice-cream and cold-coffee dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States