Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carol's Daughter
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe was delectable. I have prepared French toast per this recipe three times and the French toast has been awesome each time. Each time I have used Texas Toast as I could not source the Mexican Bolillio Rolls. I find that if you don’t over saturate your bread in batter (to a point of sogginess) and that if your skillet or griddle is hot enough, the mascarpone filling should not melt as it takes the toast less than a minute (about 45 seconds) to brown on each side. This is a recipe that one should definitely try more than once--making adjustments according to one’s taste; i.e. with different fruit, etc. Also to those who cannot locate Mascarpone cheese or the cheese is too expensive etc., I have found an awesome substitute for Mascarpone cheese that is as good as, if not better, than the real thing. Enjoy! Mascarpone Cheese Substitute: 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream 2 1/2 tablespoons sour cream Combine well. Do not substitute low fat cream cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Oh, wow! I had left over mascarpone from a dessert recipe, and not knowing what else to do, I looked here. This recipe is absolutely delicious! The only changes I made were: I used french bread instead of bollio, and I added regular sugar to the mascarpone in addition to the powdered, because I didn't think the confectioners cut it. Also, since it wasn't peach season, U used frozen peaches and it still came out really well. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone! ****UPDATE: I just wanted to share a much easier way of making this. Forget the loaf and cutting and stuffing! Just buy a presliced loaf of french sandwich bread and spread the filling between two slices and make as normal. So much easier and I say even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! The subtle flavors of the lemon in the marscapone and the nutmeg in the peaches really made an exciting, yet warm/comforting breakfast. My husband stated that he much preferred this breakfast to anything else we've had before because it's not overtly syrupy sweet like so many other french toast/pancake recipes. The only changes I made was using canned peaches as this was a last minute recipe and I didn't have fresh. Since the canned peaches were already sweeter than fresh I did not add the granulated sugar, but just left in a little bit of the light syrup it came in and then seasoned according to the recipe. I also used plain bread slices as I've never even seen Mexican Bolillo Rolls in my small northern town. I will definitely be using this recipe again in the future. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
My favorite allrecipes.com recipe! Absolutely fantastic. I've made this several times and with different breads. Of French, bolillo rolls, blue berry crepes and sub rolls, the bolillo rolls were the easiest to work with and the fluffiest. I found them in the bakery bread section of the grocery store near the buns and dinner rolls. The texture of the French bread made it difficult to stuff without tearing. The fresh lemon zest makes this dish. The peaches were excellent and I've also modified it with fresh blue berries and fresh black berries. Easy to make & decadent, this is our 'go to' recipe for special occasions and company. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I love this recipe. I used the french bread and cut it into thick slices. I used frozen respberries instead of peaches for the sauce. This made a sauce with a bit of a tart flavor to go with sweetness of the mascarpone. It came together so well and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mexico Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This really was awesome. My new favorite breakfast. I did use the rolls, even though they make tiny pieces, but they were very very good. You could probably use any type of fruit (apples, strawberries, blueberries...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made some changes to this to suit my minimalist cooking style and make it a little healthier. Just made plain french toast without the pockets with a good multi grain bread. Spread the mascarpone filling in the middle of two pieces and served with fresh peaches and blueberries. I thought the blueberries were a nice compliment to the lemon and peaches. My teenage son will be demanding I make this every weekend, and I will happily comply. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Made this New Year's Day for 20 people for brunch. Very tasty! Was the hit of the party. Only negative comment was that I ended up with more filling and more peach topping than necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
delicious and always gets rave reviews! i've used french bread and sourdough and both have worked well. i let the stuffed bread soak in the batter mix for 5-10 minutes on each side before frying instead of just dipping it. much better, in my opinion. i LOVE the flavor of blueberry and lemon together so instead of topping with peaches, i simmer about 2 cups of frozen blueberries with a few tablespoons of sugar for about an hour then drizzle that over the french toast when serving. add a little dark maple syrup for an amazing brunch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This was wonderful. The filling has a great, custard-y flavor. I tried it once with blueberries on top, and once with apples (fresh, cooked down with sugar and cinnnamon). I also couldn't find the right bread, so used a good loaf of fresh French bread. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States