Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was very good. I used VERY thick Japanese white bread i get from a Japanese market. It makes great french toast. I just made a wide slit and stuffed with the mascarpone cheese. I kinda wish that the mascarpone stayed creamy instead of melting like butter. I think that would have been amazing. I think i will do what another reviewer did next time and make a slit, cook the french toast then stuff it. That would be amazing! That will probably make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
My favorite allrecipes.com recipe! Absolutely fantastic. I've made this several times and with different breads. Of French, bolillo rolls, blue berry crepes and sub rolls, the bolillo rolls were the easiest to work with and the fluffiest. I found them in the bakery bread section of the grocery store near the buns and dinner rolls. The texture of the French bread made it difficult to stuff without tearing. The fresh lemon zest makes this dish. The peaches were excellent and I've also modified it with fresh blue berries and fresh black berries. Easy to make & decadent, this is our 'go to' recipe for special occasions and company. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VCavani
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is the BEST french toast I've ever had! Restaurant, homemade, anything. I used a firm loaf of country white bread from a local bakery, and canned peaches in pear juice. I also squeezed some of the lemon juice into the filling mixture to give it more lemon flavor. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
well I did it the first time exactly like instructions said and it was to soggy in the middle but the flavors were wonderful so next time i made i cooked toast first then added filling and i like it much better so rating is based on 2nd time making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Oh so very very good and supper easy – start to finish probably half an hour. My peaches were not all that ripe and way pre-season (I did this Valentine's day in Ohio), so I added about a 1/4 cup of orange juice to the pan to help them cook - they turned out spectacular, not too sweet and a great fresh peach taste (I can't imagine doing this with canned peaches). I also added a little extra powdered sugar to the Mascarpone - I would recommend doing a little sampling and sweetening to taste =) I used a fat baguette of fresh sourdough bread because that is what I had; and I bet pretty much any kind of bread would work – as long as it is in “slice yourself” form. I also skipped the plastic bag and just used a fork to stuff my slices, and it worked just fine. I cooked them on an electric griddle with the recommended butter/oil mix. The pictures uploaded here don’t do the recipe justice… mine came out looking absolutely elegant and I will definitely do it again for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I just made this for Valentine's Day breakfast. We loved it. The things I did differently: I used challah bread b/c I didn't have the roles. I used 2 cans peaches in natural juice. I did not add sugar to the peach syrup mixture, I just used all the juices in the cans. The lemon flavor is great and made this way, it's just sweet enough, not too much. It's SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. Only tip I can offer to improve (my own experience) is to make sure that the pocket is cut edge to edge so that you get the yummy filling in every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Peaches were wonderful. Used Texas toast instead of the rolls. Mascarpone was a little blah. It also separated a little. The only thing I have ever used mascarpone for is tiramisu, so maybe there is a trick to it that I don't know? I will kepp this recipe and use cream cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I love this recipe. I used the french bread and cut it into thick slices. I used frozen respberries instead of peaches for the sauce. This made a sauce with a bit of a tart flavor to go with sweetness of the mascarpone. It came together so well and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mexico Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This really was awesome. My new favorite breakfast. I did use the rolls, even though they make tiny pieces, but they were very very good. You could probably use any type of fruit (apples, strawberries, blueberries...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States