Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. It's decadent but is still light and crisp somehow, so you don't feel like you're being bogged down when you eat it. I read that bolillo bread is much like french bread, so I used a loaf of that and cut it into 1 1/2 inch slices, then made "sandwiches" with the mascarpone mixture. Six eggs is too many; I recommend starting with 4 (and slightly reducing milk.) We had to throw away quite a bit of batter. Don't skimp on the lemon zest - it's so delicious in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Amazing. We used strawberries for the sauce because they were in season and it was still fabulous. Cant wait to try it with the peaches. We are making it again in the morning with our fresh baked challah bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Everyone, including the picky eaters and connoisseurs, loved this french toast! We took the suggestions of others to grill the french toast first and then stuff it with the marscapone. Came out really great! We made our own challah bread in bread maker, sliced it about 1 inch thick. It looked great and tasted great. We passed on the peach topping, but may try it next time when peaches are in season. We will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimmy001
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was the fist time making stuffed french toast and it came out perfecty! My family loved it! I will make this one again and again and try it out with other fruit toppings :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Awesome!!! I double the recipe (except for the egg mixture - it makes way too much) and use the whole loaf of french bread. I cut it in half and then into the pieces. I also use three small bags of frozen peaches but only double the sugar. I doubled the mascarpone mixture since I cut the loaf in half to make the 1 1/4 - 1 1/2 inch thick pieces. Wow. This is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Excellent twist on french toast. We took the easy way out and grilled the french toast first and then spread the cheese mixture on top afterward. We used Texas Toast b/c we couldn't find the recommended rolls. We also bought frozen peaches b/c fresh weren't is season; otherwise we followed the recipe and really enjoyed the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol's Daughter
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe was delectable. I have prepared French toast per this recipe three times and the French toast has been awesome each time. Each time I have used Texas Toast as I could not source the Mexican Bolillio Rolls. I find that if you don’t over saturate your bread in batter (to a point of sogginess) and that if your skillet or griddle is hot enough, the mascarpone filling should not melt as it takes the toast less than a minute (about 45 seconds) to brown on each side. This is a recipe that one should definitely try more than once--making adjustments according to one’s taste; i.e. with different fruit, etc. Also to those who cannot locate Mascarpone cheese or the cheese is too expensive etc., I have found an awesome substitute for Mascarpone cheese that is as good as, if not better, than the real thing. Enjoy! Mascarpone Cheese Substitute: 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream 2 1/2 tablespoons sour cream Combine well. Do not substitute low fat cream cheese or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diego91914
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Phenomenal !! I used Texas Toast bread instead of the Mexican bolillo rolls and used two jars of Del Monte Cinniman Spiced Peaches that are in the cold section of the market. I removed the peaches initially and thickened the existing syrup to taste adding the required spices. The lemon zest really complements the mascarpone filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Made this for breakfast this morning, and it satisfied everyone's sweet tooth cravings. I had been meaning to make this while peaches were in season, but by the time breakfast came around I either had no mascarpone, or I ate all of the peaches. Instead, today I used canned pears instead of peaches, and orange zest instead of lemon, as I'm not generally a fan of incorporating sourness into anything for some strange reason. With my 29oz canned pears, I had to add about half of the syrup to ensure there was liquid in the pan while making the sauce. If you go this route, you'd be pretty safe either cutting back the sugar or eliminating it altogether. Now for the filling, I didn't use any real measurement of how much orange zest to add, I simply added a bit, stirred it well enough to mix it in, and do a small taste test. I was only making enough toast for 2 adults and a child, so the filling and batter I cut by half. This made enough for 9 slices (cut 1.25"). The sauce I didn't cut in half, and knowing what I know now I will in the future. I always like to have a bit more on hand rather then not enough. I wish we had bolillo rolls locally, but no luck. As others suggested, I wouldn't fill the toast until after they cook, as the cheese will turn to liquid and you'll end up with soggy french toast. I added mine immediately after removing from the skillet and served thereafter. Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Amazing! So delicious it is a must try and try again. What a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States