Mascarpone Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These cupcakes were absolutely delicious! I substitued canola oil for the vegetable oil. For the glaze I used more than 1/2 a cup of strawberries and only about a cup of sugar. I usually don't make recipes from this site that have low ratings, but I am glad I made these. Just a note - if you are using a regular cupcake pan, this recipe will make 18-24 cupcakes, not 12 like it states. I filled my cupcakes up to the top and ended up with a major muffin top. These store well unglazed. I kept them covered on the counter for a few days, and felt they got better a day or two after they were baked. I just kept the glaze in the fridge and used it as needed (which I also felt got better a day or two after it was made). I will definitely make these again, and experiment with different fruit glazes for the topping. Excellent - Five stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I had some mascarpone left over from another recipie so I gave this recipe a try. The mascarpone really really maked a big difference - Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
These are honestly one of the best cupcakes I have ever had! I never review recipes, but this was so good I had to. They are very moist and at first almost reminded me of an angel food cake type texture. The glaze is runny and a bit messy, but that's what glazes are supposed to do. I chilled my glaze while the cupcakes cooled in order to make it a little bit easier to work with. I also added a little strawberry slice to the top of each cupcake for a little decoration. Give these a try! They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Followed directions and mixed by hand with wooden spoon until well combined. Did not over mix. Filled muffin cups about 3/4 full. They do puff up but go down while cooling. I got about 16 cupcakes. I filled 1 cup measuring cup to the top with frozen strawberries because they settle once thawed. I only used 1 and 1/2 cups of conf. sugar. This was sweet enough for us. I spooned 2 to 3 spoons of the puree over each cupcake. The cupcakes were plenty moist and light. We enjoyed very much and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Made these yesterday in the big cupcake size pan (Texas muffin size?) and they are ALL gone except one which I am slowly picking away at...these are fabulous and very moist - everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Esposito

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Could not believe how well they turned out. Prefer a raspberry sauce on top with a little whipped cream. Really does not need too much dressing up because they stand on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
These are VERY moist and delicious. Very easy to make. I made a raspberry and blueberry purée, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
i really liked this recipe, and my coworkers did as well. i was looking for something "pink" for a baby shower. i also added about 3 tablespoons of pureed strawberries in syrup to the batter. the cupcakes were somewhat dense, they rose, then fell, but were definitely moist. i did bake them for 30 minutes, instead of 20, because i wasn't sure if they were done. the extra cooking time did not negatively affect the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I thought the cupcake portion of this recipe was delicious. I wasn't impressed with the appearance of the strawberry mixture for the top of the cake. I WOULD make the base again, but would consider other types of icings/frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These cupcakes were INCREDIBLE! They were so moist and flavorful; the mascarpone really makes a creamy cupcake. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was because of the glaze. The flavor of it was nice, don't get me wrong. But it just made the cupcakes look kinda sloppy. A nice idea in theory, but didn't execute well. I will DEFINTELY be using this cupcake recipe again, perhaps with a strawberry frosting. A chocolate hazelnut frosting would also pair nicely with this cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States