Masala-Spiced Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Eamon
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Simple, excellent recipe. I used a 7 lb bird so I threw in some extra garlic, lime and masala. The smell of the chicken roasting reminded me of apple pie. The masala gives it a nice spice and the lime a tangy kick. You can never use too much garlic and I recommend more than 10 cloves. A+ Countess, nice job :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eamon
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times it came out great. The smell in the house was amazing and being that I love Garam Masala I was ever so pleased to try this. Expect a juicey chicen and a great taste from all the garlic and lime combo. The only thing I did different the 2nd time was add more lime juice prior to putting the rub on and added extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had a 5-1/4lb young chicken and aside from changing the end roasting time-20 min per lb. I too added extra cloves under the skin and some sea salt to the masala. THIS IS AN AWESOME RECIPE- 3 adults devoured the whole thing! This is now a regular in this house. Thank you Countess!!!!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Keeping to my New Years resolution to follow a recipe 100% the first time I try it (though there are ways around that rule). I just made the chicken and I'm very impressed. I had to make my own Garam Masala as I didn't have any pre-made. This was a very educational process. Just look at the number of Garam Masala recipes on this site alone. I chose one and loved the results. Those folks that didn't like this recipe should do some research on how to make your own. The variations of ingredients mean that every time you make this recipe it can taste different from the last time you made it. I'm going to use variations on more chicken, shrimp, talapia, etc. I think this recipe is a true winner for how easy it is to make, yet how complex the flavors can be with some effort. Thank you Countess!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
It was my first time cooking a whole chicken and I choose this recipe because it looked simple. I loved the results! The cooking time was spot on and it was very moist. I didn't have a lime so I substituted a lemon and it was good. I also added some cayenne red pepper with the garam masala for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Good recipe and I served it with Indian bread and Mango chutney. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Yum! My husband, friends, and I love this unique, flavorful roasted chicken. It is so easy to prepare. The skin roasts perfectly with the lime juice. I only use 1 garlic clove because I don't like too much of it. I press it and then put the little pieces under the skin, rather than whole cloves. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was delicious. What was bad about it was there was not enough for leftovers. Next time planning to make 2 chickens at once for leftovers. I made fresh naan and dal and dinner was complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband and daughter liked this pretty well, although they found it a little to garlicy. Simple to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
What a interesting idea! I left out the lime, as most people said it didn't add anything, made sure to rub the masala UNDER the skin, and stuck some pats of butter in there as well. It went great as a protein bonus for the meat eaters to a vegetarian Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States