Masala Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Just bought some fresh ingredients today and tried this recipe...WOW!!! I love it so much! The drink came up irresistable! Thanx a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarigrad, Drochia, Moldova
Living In: Bracknell, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
yummmm! This was my first time trying this. I made a few changes to double the recipe. I like cardamon so for 2c. water I added 4 pods. Didnt have any whole clover so instead I used some allspice (a little variation but worked quite nicely). Topped the tea off with a little dash of cinnamon. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fubarchic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I just tried this recipe for the first time today. I am a huge fan of chai tea and chai lattes, and this chai hit the spot. The recipe was unbelievably easy and incredibly tasty. I loved it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feistymango

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
So good and much better than the instant stuff. Once you invest in the spices, also much less expensive than Oregon Chai. Even better with ginger and more cardamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
To make two cups at a time (because who can have only one?)I increase the spices by three, crush the peppercorns, clove and cardamom pod pull out the seeds and add whole. I then grate about a 1/4" to 1/2" of fresh peeled ginger and add to the initial water and sugar. It only takes a teaspoon more of tea because I let it steep longer,approximately 5 minutes. Also I only use Turbinado Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
mmmmm! This recipe is so worth it - it beats powdered chai mix anyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I just spent two years in Tanzania where I was served Chai Masala every morning. You should add a teaspoon of ground ginger to get the right flavor. Some Tanzanians also add a teapoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harht4God

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love chai teas!! I especially love using tea leaves to control the sweetness. I reduced the pepper to half because I think it tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is one where you really kind of have to add more of what spice you like to shine through. Great basic and one that can be tweaked to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States