Masala Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
So good and much better than the instant stuff. Once you invest in the spices, also much less expensive than Oregon Chai. Even better with ginger and more cardamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I wored with a young lady from India who advised me to add a little ginger and kick up the cardomom a notch (smile). This recipe was excellent. I also had to substitute heavy cream for the milk (as the kid used it all on chocolate milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This tea is very bland and not like in Indian restaurants. I can`t feel no one spice, it seems like I`am drinking simple tea with milk. 2-3 minutes are not enough to make all spices give their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Just bought some fresh ingredients today and tried this recipe...WOW!!! I love it so much! The drink came up irresistable! Thanx a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarigrad, Drochia, Moldova
Living In: Bracknell, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars coz this could do with a tad more of the spices. And ginger is a must to give it the authentic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't know if there's a "correct" way, but I find it much more flavorful & satisfying if I use several times as much spice, and boil everything together for some time. For a large 20-ounce mugful, I start with probably 30 ounces of water, 2 heaping teaspoons "CTC style" loose black tea, 3-4 cardamom pods, probably 10-15 whole cloves, 10-15 whole peppercorns, and a 2-3 inch cinnamon stick. I find that any powdered or ground spice adds an unpleasant "thickness" that coats my tongue. I put the tea and all the spices together in the water, and bring to a boil, then continue to boil for 5 or more minutes. At some point I scoop in about 2 tablespoons or so of white sugar and bring back to the boil. Pour in some whole milk till the tea is the proper rich reddish brown color, remove from the heat and strain into a cup. If boiled after the milk is added, a skin can develop on the surface but you can scrape this off and the tea is still fine. Of course you can experiment with different amounts of everything, but I think boiling importantly releases more flavor than just steeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Delicious and simple. I assumed green cardamom pods as opposed to black, and left out the sugar as I don't like my tea to taste like candy. :) Also fwiw, I have some authentic Indian masala chai and it uses black Assam tea, however I didn't have any on hand so used regular Orange Pekoe and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I just tried this recipe for the first time today. I am a huge fan of chai tea and chai lattes, and this chai hit the spot. The recipe was unbelievably easy and incredibly tasty. I loved it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feistymango

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I loved it! Been trying to find that recipe forever. All I could ever make did not even come close to this. I did modified the milk to 1/4 cup though. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States