Masala Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
To make two cups at a time (because who can have only one?)I increase the spices by three, crush the peppercorns, clove and cardamom pod pull out the seeds and add whole. I then grate about a 1/4" to 1/2" of fresh peeled ginger and add to the initial water and sugar. It only takes a teaspoon more of tea because I let it steep longer,approximately 5 minutes. Also I only use Turbinado Sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I just spent two years in Tanzania where I was served Chai Masala every morning. You should add a teaspoon of ground ginger to get the right flavor. Some Tanzanians also add a teapoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harht4God

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I don't know if there's a "correct" way, but I find it much more flavorful & satisfying if I use several times as much spice, and boil everything together for some time. For a large 20-ounce mugful, I start with probably 30 ounces of water, 2 heaping teaspoons "CTC style" loose black tea, 3-4 cardamom pods, probably 10-15 whole cloves, 10-15 whole peppercorns, and a 2-3 inch cinnamon stick. I find that any powdered or ground spice adds an unpleasant "thickness" that coats my tongue. I put the tea and all the spices together in the water, and bring to a boil, then continue to boil for 5 or more minutes. At some point I scoop in about 2 tablespoons or so of white sugar and bring back to the boil. Pour in some whole milk till the tea is the proper rich reddish brown color, remove from the heat and strain into a cup. If boiled after the milk is added, a skin can develop on the surface but you can scrape this off and the tea is still fine. Of course you can experiment with different amounts of everything, but I think boiling importantly releases more flavor than just steeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is one where you really kind of have to add more of what spice you like to shine through. Great basic and one that can be tweaked to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I just tried this recipe for the first time today. I am a huge fan of chai tea and chai lattes, and this chai hit the spot. The recipe was unbelievably easy and incredibly tasty. I loved it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I gave three stars because while it was very helpful as a basis to work from, as written, the recipe tasted very bland to me. I could barely detect any spices over the sugar and pepper. Made the following tweaks: added some fresh ginger to the mix (chopped into about 1" squares), omitted the pepper (cardamom and cinnamon still give just the right amount of kick), used 1 TSP of ground cardamom since I didn't have whole, and used about 1/2TSP of cloves. I simmered for about 10 minutes to get more flavor from the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
yummmm! This was my first time trying this. I made a few changes to double the recipe. I like cardamon so for 2c. water I added 4 pods. Didnt have any whole clover so instead I used some allspice (a little variation but worked quite nicely). Topped the tea off with a little dash of cinnamon. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fubarchic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feistymango

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
this was very good, however i made a few changes so that I could have a more spicy chai. i added one star aniseed pod and 2 slices of fresh ginger which i strained out with the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars coz this could do with a tad more of the spices. And ginger is a must to give it the authentic taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States