Masala Chai Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
i had to heavily modify the recipe and i still didn't think it came out moist enough (my dinner-mates thought it was great, I think they were just polite). Added a whole egg, extra half pinch of cinnamon, allspice and cloves to add a kick to the flavour. The tea bags didn't do much at all (3 Tazo Organic Chai tea bags simmered for 30 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
We found these brownies enjoyable but the flavor didn't wow us. I added extra cinnamon and cardamom to the batter to boost the chai flavor, but it was still very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These tasted all right, but I was a bit disappointed in the lack of chai flavoring, I didn't taste it at all! Mostly it was just brownies with coconut in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
These brownies are SO tasty. I had to cook them about 5-10 min longer than it says and they are crumbly, but taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Made it without the coconut. I guess I didn't make the chai strong enough, because I can barely taste it - but they're very good brownies nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These brownies are amazing! I make this as written except instead of blending up the coconut I just put it in shredded. So moist and always a hit! I will am looking forward to trying what 1 reviewer suggested: brewing the tea in soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsijoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
ERMAHGERD! These brownies are ridiculous. There two things that I somehow manage to always screw up: cupcakes and brownies. I substituted apple sauce for half of the oil, used brown sugar instead of white, steeped 3 Stash chai tea bags in coconut milk and hot water, ripped open 1 of the teabags didn't use cocoa powder for dusting the pan. This was delicious as a batter, straight out of the oven and after sitting for an hour. This is going to be my go to brownie recipe. It's so hard to screw up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Delicious!!! I used gluten-free flour and substituted agave for the sugar and it came out great! I think next time I will use coconut oil instead of canola. And I like my chai strong and spicy, so I think I'll brew it even longer next time and add extra spices. I had to bring them in to work today to share so that I didn't eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Minkler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was really looking forward to these and while they were good, I was hoping that the chai flavor would really come through and was a bit disappointed that it didn't. I think the next time I make this, I'll actually add a dash of various chai spices to the mix to really give it some punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
As is, the recipe is okay, but the chai flavor is very very subtle. The second time around, I made the following changes: upped the cocoa powder to 1/3 cup, the vanilla to a full teaspoon, added one egg for improved texture, used half white and half packed brown sugar, added 1/2 cup chocolate chips, and used "chai butter" instead of oil. To make that, I simply simmered butter with a teaspoon of chai tea leaves for about 5 minutes, then strained. If you want to keep the recipe vegan, you can infuse the canola oil with chai as well, and omit the egg I added. Make sure the chai tea is brewed very strongly -- I poured 1 cup boiling water over three tea bags and steeped for 20 minutes. The chai flavor was more pronounced but not overpowering. Next time I might add some extra ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves for a spicier brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States