Masala Chai Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not especially experienced with baking. I followed the recipe almost exactly, aside from leaving out the coconut and brewing my tea with 1/4 cup soymilk and 1/4 cup water, as a reviewer suggested. I used Stash Premium Chai Spice black tea, which uses exactly the spices called for in Masala Chai tea. I baked it right at 20 minutes and stuck a toothpick in the middle. It came out clean, so I took them out of the oven and let them sit. When I cut them, they were very moist but really didn't fall apart. One corner crumbled a tiny bit so I did what any noble baker would do: I ate it. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I used sweetened coconut instead, since that is all I could find at my store. I also only used 1T of cocoa powder for the bottom of the 8x8 pan. For a light dusting, that was even too much and I ended up dumping some of it out. Even with that, these are amazing brownies. Incredibly soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Holy cow these are amazing! Definitely needed less than 2 Tbsp for dusting. Used a heaping 1/3 cup coconut (mmmm) which I ran through my small mixer thing. The chai: used two teabags steeped in 1/4 cup warm coconut milk and 1/4 cup hot water; strained the bags and then - aw, what the heck - opened them up and added the tea contents! I only had an 8x11 so they baked longer than 20 minutes (and remained "shiny"). Five of us for dinner - there are few remaining! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I originally picked this recipe, because my friend's little sister is very allergic to eggs and she'd never had a brownie before. So of course I had to save this poor kid from a lifetime of dread and depression. This recipe was perfect and worked great. The trick might be to make the chai just right. I'm Bengali, so I made it thick and heavy, the way my family generally likes it, with a "Bengali Spice Chai" teabag from Celestial Seasonings. The brownies came out rich and dense, just how brownies should be. The chai undertone made it even better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
As is, the recipe is okay, but the chai flavor is very very subtle. The second time around, I made the following changes: upped the cocoa powder to 1/3 cup, the vanilla to a full teaspoon, added one egg for improved texture, used half white and half packed brown sugar, added 1/2 cup chocolate chips, and used "chai butter" instead of oil. To make that, I simply simmered butter with a teaspoon of chai tea leaves for about 5 minutes, then strained. If you want to keep the recipe vegan, you can infuse the canola oil with chai as well, and omit the egg I added. Make sure the chai tea is brewed very strongly -- I poured 1 cup boiling water over three tea bags and steeped for 20 minutes. The chai flavor was more pronounced but not overpowering. Next time I might add some extra ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves for a spicier brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Made these for my vegan little brother....absolutely delicious! I was slightly confused about the Masala chai, though....I wasn't quite sure whether to use tea brewed with water or with soy milk (to make sure that they are vegan). After researching the traditional way to make the drink I went with a combination of the two and they turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This brownie recipe is great! The Chai flavor is as promised, subtle. I love the coconut too. My kids loved it but my Chai loving South Indian husband hated it. Still I give it 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These are very moist & really yummy. Fell apart a bit, but I made 1 1/2 times the recipe & baked in a 9x11 pan, so this might have had an effect. Will definitely bake again and will try some of the variations others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These brownies turned out great! Didn't alter the recipe at all, except using less cocoa powder to sprinkle into the pan. Steeped 1 Tbsp. chai in 1/2 cup boiling water, then dumped the entire thing (including the tea leaves/spices) in with the mix. Gives a very apparent chai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are delicious! I used sucanat instead of white sugar, coconut oil instead of canola oil, and made a strong rooibos chai tea. I am going to try with whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUGCHICK67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States