Masala Chai Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I originally picked this recipe, because my friend's little sister is very allergic to eggs and she'd never had a brownie before. So of course I had to save this poor kid from a lifetime of dread and depression. This recipe was perfect and worked great. The trick might be to make the chai just right. I'm Bengali, so I made it thick and heavy, the way my family generally likes it, with a "Bengali Spice Chai" teabag from Celestial Seasonings. The brownies came out rich and dense, just how brownies should be. The chai undertone made it even better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not especially experienced with baking. I followed the recipe almost exactly, aside from leaving out the coconut and brewing my tea with 1/4 cup soymilk and 1/4 cup water, as a reviewer suggested. I used Stash Premium Chai Spice black tea, which uses exactly the spices called for in Masala Chai tea. I baked it right at 20 minutes and stuck a toothpick in the middle. It came out clean, so I took them out of the oven and let them sit. When I cut them, they were very moist but really didn't fall apart. One corner crumbled a tiny bit so I did what any noble baker would do: I ate it. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These are very moist & really yummy. Fell apart a bit, but I made 1 1/2 times the recipe & baked in a 9x11 pan, so this might have had an effect. Will definitely bake again and will try some of the variations others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are delicious! I used sucanat instead of white sugar, coconut oil instead of canola oil, and made a strong rooibos chai tea. I am going to try with whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUGCHICK67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were very interesting. I usually use espresso to heighten the chocolate flavor in brownies and the chai was a nice change. The coconut accented the spices very well. However after 10 minutes over the cooking time indicated, they were still not done in the middle, and fell apart even when they were completely cool. Vegan brownies don't have to crumble just because they don't have egg in them. If I make this again, I will modify the recipe, but this as-is provided a decent dessert for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I'm giving this a five before they're even baked because the batter is sooo good. I thought the hint of chai might be weird, but it's phenomenal. Truly a beautiful thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These brownies turned out great! Didn't alter the recipe at all, except using less cocoa powder to sprinkle into the pan. Steeped 1 Tbsp. chai in 1/2 cup boiling water, then dumped the entire thing (including the tea leaves/spices) in with the mix. Gives a very apparent chai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I made these without the coconut b/c my cousin isn't a big fan of it, but I did use coconut milk to brew the chai. Also, I used organic buckwheat flour instead because my bf is allergic to wheat, dairy, and eggs.Despite cooking them for about 35 minutes, they never became very solid. That said, everyone loved it (though they said next time I should serve it with ice cream! I'm going to try making this with almond flour (instead of all-purpose) and either carob flour or agave for the sugar (I'll nix the chai if I use agave to even out the liquid content) so that *I* can eat it (carb restrictions). I'll let you know how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have nooo idea how to rate this recipe, because right now mine are ina lumpy, black, bitter mess. it's fully cooked, but it looks nothing like the picture. I'm panicking slightly, wondering what I did. The only thing was maybe, I used chai latte mix instead of tea and cut down 1/4 of the sugar. They are dense lumps that don't stick together and they barely cover the bottom of the pan. WHAT DID I DO???????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Holy cow these are amazing! Definitely needed less than 2 Tbsp for dusting. Used a heaping 1/3 cup coconut (mmmm) which I ran through my small mixer thing. The chai: used two teabags steeped in 1/4 cup warm coconut milk and 1/4 cup hot water; strained the bags and then - aw, what the heck - opened them up and added the tea contents! I only had an 8x11 so they baked longer than 20 minutes (and remained "shiny"). Five of us for dinner - there are few remaining! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States