Masala Chai Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Delicious!!! I used gluten-free flour and substituted agave for the sugar and it came out great! I think next time I will use coconut oil instead of canola. And I like my chai strong and spicy, so I think I'll brew it even longer next time and add extra spices. I had to bring them in to work today to share so that I didn't eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Minkler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I was really looking forward to these and while they were good, I was hoping that the chai flavor would really come through and was a bit disappointed that it didn't. I think the next time I make this, I'll actually add a dash of various chai spices to the mix to really give it some punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
As is, the recipe is okay, but the chai flavor is very very subtle. The second time around, I made the following changes: upped the cocoa powder to 1/3 cup, the vanilla to a full teaspoon, added one egg for improved texture, used half white and half packed brown sugar, added 1/2 cup chocolate chips, and used "chai butter" instead of oil. To make that, I simply simmered butter with a teaspoon of chai tea leaves for about 5 minutes, then strained. If you want to keep the recipe vegan, you can infuse the canola oil with chai as well, and omit the egg I added. Make sure the chai tea is brewed very strongly -- I poured 1 cup boiling water over three tea bags and steeped for 20 minutes. The chai flavor was more pronounced but not overpowering. Next time I might add some extra ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves for a spicier brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I originally picked this recipe, because my friend's little sister is very allergic to eggs and she'd never had a brownie before. So of course I had to save this poor kid from a lifetime of dread and depression. This recipe was perfect and worked great. The trick might be to make the chai just right. I'm Bengali, so I made it thick and heavy, the way my family generally likes it, with a "Bengali Spice Chai" teabag from Celestial Seasonings. The brownies came out rich and dense, just how brownies should be. The chai undertone made it even better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I'm not especially experienced with baking. I followed the recipe almost exactly, aside from leaving out the coconut and brewing my tea with 1/4 cup soymilk and 1/4 cup water, as a reviewer suggested. I used Stash Premium Chai Spice black tea, which uses exactly the spices called for in Masala Chai tea. I baked it right at 20 minutes and stuck a toothpick in the middle. It came out clean, so I took them out of the oven and let them sit. When I cut them, they were very moist but really didn't fall apart. One corner crumbled a tiny bit so I did what any noble baker would do: I ate it. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These are very moist & really yummy. Fell apart a bit, but I made 1 1/2 times the recipe & baked in a 9x11 pan, so this might have had an effect. Will definitely bake again and will try some of the variations others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are delicious! I used sucanat instead of white sugar, coconut oil instead of canola oil, and made a strong rooibos chai tea. I am going to try with whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUGCHICK67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
These were very interesting. I usually use espresso to heighten the chocolate flavor in brownies and the chai was a nice change. The coconut accented the spices very well. However after 10 minutes over the cooking time indicated, they were still not done in the middle, and fell apart even when they were completely cool. Vegan brownies don't have to crumble just because they don't have egg in them. If I make this again, I will modify the recipe, but this as-is provided a decent dessert for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I'm giving this a five before they're even baked because the batter is sooo good. I thought the hint of chai might be weird, but it's phenomenal. Truly a beautiful thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These brownies turned out great! Didn't alter the recipe at all, except using less cocoa powder to sprinkle into the pan. Steeped 1 Tbsp. chai in 1/2 cup boiling water, then dumped the entire thing (including the tea leaves/spices) in with the mix. Gives a very apparent chai flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States