Masala Beef with Ginger and Curry Leaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This beef curry was not for me, it was a bit bland and lacked depth. I felt that the curry leaves made the sauce taste funny. I followed the recipe exactly, and it just was not impressive. Will move on to other curry recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
i had never cooked with fresh curry leaves before, and i must say, that particular ingredient puts this dish over the top. i used double the amount. very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Absolutely yummy and worth the investment in tenderloin and coconut oil. Makes the entire house smell awesome. Used the tomato approach but will use only half a tomato in the next batch so the spices make a bigger statement. Two questions (in the interest of authenticity): Cardamom pods: green or black? Mustard seeds: yellow or black?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephen Lsk
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and was extremely pleased. I did substitute 1/2 cup fresh tomato puree instead of the lemon juice as one person who commented had suggested. I also have a bay laurel tree and a curry plant in my garden which made the list of ingredients even easier. I quickly photographed the finished product as everyone was more than ready to dig in and eat, I'm not a food photographer so please be kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This recipe is apparently my best east indian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I can tell you by just looking at this recipe that it's VERY authentic (minus the bay leaves, which I suspect Allrecipes put instead of the curry leaves). I'm of Indian descent, and this is pretty much how we make meat as a side dish to eat with rice. Here are some tips, though: 1) Cube your beef really small (like 1/2 inch pieces) so that you'll get more flavor onto your meat. 2) Instead of lemon juice, use 1 tomato, chopped up, to add a little acidity. Be sure to cook it down all the way. 3) You can use about 1-2 tsp of red chili powder as per your taste (ie., cayenne powder, NOT chili powder for chili) instead of the green chili peppers, or use a smaller amount of both. They have different flavors, but both provide heat. 4) Don't fry your onions until crisp...just sautee until slightly brown if you want the flavors & masala to penetrate the meat. 5) You can pre-cook your meat with ginger, onions, salt, a little turmeric, and green chilis in a pressure cooker to make the beef more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eljaustin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
great recipe! we added some veggies & threw it in the slow cooker. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greg&lou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I've tried over two dozen recipes from this website and this is by far the most impressive. I was stingy and bought a lower grade of beef, which I won't do next time, but despite the fact that it wasn't as tender as I'd like (I also cut it a bit too small), the flavor was FABULOUS. I recommend not letting all of the broth cook off but instead adding the remaining broth to the coconut oil mixture. If you serve it over rice, the rice soaks the sauce right up and it is so delicious! My husband and I like spicy food and will probably also add another chili or two next time. We'll definitely be making this again . . . and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
this was identical to the the indian resturant down the street
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I am originally from India and I have never cooked beef in my life before. I wanted to do something different for this New Year and I am glad that I found this recipe. I did exactly as per the recipe and it came out really well. Now you have awakened my beef taste bud!!! Again thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States