Marzipan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this recipe last night. I used meringue powder instead of egg whites as well as almond flour/meal, so I didn't need to grind the almonds. I did cut the almond extract to 1/4 teaspoon because I only had imitation. Overall it was successful. So much so that I will buy real almond extract to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very tasty; a bit sticky so I will add more almond once it's been refrigerated. One piece of advice: do not use a blender - this will burn out your motor. I'd recommend a stand mixer with dough hook attachment or mix by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Made this exactly as written, then made second batch doubled. It worked perfectly. I am not sure why others are having problems with it. Anyway, for me it is perfect and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Really good recipe, although I tweaked mine when I made it. Doubled all the ingredients, except the eggs, I still used 2. I whisked the egg whites until frothy, and then mixed those into the rest of the ingredients by hand, rather than using a blender. Once it was sticking together, I just kneaded it on my countertop like I was making bread, until it was of uniform texture and well mixed. To grind the almonds, I used my food processor, it worked really well. I really wanted a strong almond flavour for the recipe I was making the marzipan for, so I doubled the along extract...next time I will probably add a little more. All in all, this turned out really well, even with my changed. Had a smooth, firm texture, nice colour, and great taste! Will be making more this weekend for my Christmas baking projects! *****As a side note, please read the directions and ingredients before making this recipe! If you have issues with using raw eggs then use a different recipe! It's not fair to rate a recipe low if you do not like the ingredients called for, just pick another one to make, there are plenty of recipes to be found online!*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I make this now all the time - my husband and step son love it just as a treat. I did double the almonds and I use the simply egg whites which say they are safe to eat raw. We have drizzled chocolate, butterscotch, even marshmallow on top and it's really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
wonderful and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artemis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I'm just so relieved to finally see a recipe that doesn't have 'Almond paste' or any ready made product mentioned in it. I was looking for a recipe similar to what my grandpa used to make and this looks like it!!! THANKS so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Pearl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mangalore, Karnataka, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This isn't a bad marzipan. I think you should make it a bit simpler though, and also without the dangerous raw eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe, did exactly as it said, and after little more than 24 hours in the fridge I took it out to see.... too sticky and liquidized to work with. I even tried rolling it into powdererd sugar. So I looked up an original recipe, only to find out it was double this one.. only it still had 2 egg whites. Note to recipe giver.. please change the amount of egg whites in this recipe, otherwise add more almonds. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
this was pretty good, not the best but still worth the effort. i am not a great marzipan fan but this was as good as most that i have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States