Marzetti® Hawaiian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is an OUTSTANDING cole slaw!!! The first time I made it exactly as the recipe is written and it was wonderful. The second time I customized it to my family's taste; 1) used the prepackaged cole slaw mix that included green and red cabbage and juliened carrots, 2) added sliced green onions, 3) added mandran oranges sliced into thirds, 4) used fresh thinly sliced pineapple, 5) added cranraisins, 6) used golden raisins, 7) used sunflower seeds for the "nut" in the recipe, and lastly used "Marie's" creamy cole slaw dressing (Marie's can be found in any grocery store's cold produce section). FYI - do not "overadd" the dressing as it will lose it's crunch.... Let it sit for a couple of hours for the flavors to fully marry before serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Very easy and tasty. I bought one bag of slaw and instead of adding the raisins and nuts, added 1/2 cup dried tropical fruit mix (included banana chips, mango, papaya, almonds, etc.). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Using pre-shredded cabbage with red/green cabbage and carrots, the light dressing, pecans, and mixed dried fruit instead of just the raisins, this turned out FABULOUS!! I was addicted, and so were the luau guests!! This went before the potato salad, chips, and even the desserts!! Definitely a winner!! 7/26/09 update: made this again for our second annual luau and once again, it was gone quickly! LOVE this slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnticEnerG

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
this was simple and good. I don't have that particular dressing where i live so just bought coleslaw dressing, and added pecans. A nice change from the usual apple/nut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Very tasty! I am not at all a fan of coconut, but still loved this recipe. Made it for a luau-themed party and would most definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
A nice twist on the original hawaiian salad and cole slaw. But instead of using cole slaw dressing I used and Island mango sauce and a splash of key lime juice and it gave it a nice heat factor. Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Quick, easy and a great change of pace for a summer picnic! I made this for a family pot-luck and it was definitely a success. I loved how easy it was to make, since I had about 30 minutes between getting home from work and the time I needed to leave for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Great slaw! (And I'm not a slaw-lover). I used napa cabbage (had some that needed to be used), added shredded carrots (hubby insisted), used slivered almonds & I used a homemade cole slaw dressing (Easy Delicious Old Fashioned Cole slaw Dressing from allrecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
My family loved this. I had to omit the coconut since my husband doesn't like it, and I couldn't find Marzetti's dressing so had to substitute a different brand. Didn't matter; everyone loved it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This salad was completly gone for our luau party. I used a package slaw mix that I bought at the store and we don't have marzetti slaw dressing so I used another brand....it was EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States