Marzetti® Hawaiian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
First, I should mention that I absolutely hate coconut, and raisons, but I made the recipe as is for a hawaiian themed party. I must say, pretty darned good, it received many compliments (most really like the raisons). If I have another hawaiian themed event, I will likely bring this, but I won't make it any other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Very nice change of pace in the slaw world. I omitted the raisins and coconut, and used chopped dried tart cherries and chopped pecans. They ompliment the pineapple nicely, and are nice for "non-luau" events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I used nappa cabbage, fresh pineapple, sliced almonds, and my own slaw dressing for this recipe. It was good but still seemed to be missing something. I'm not sure what. I think it was kind of bland. I'll keep the slaw for myself to eat, but I'm pretty sure my family will not be eating it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Holy moly this was soooo freaking good!!!! I used a bagged cole slaw mix, doubled all the ingredients and added in some green onion and celery. Took this on a camping trip and it got better and better each day!! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Made this tonight by the recipe but substituted dried cranberries and forgot the nuts but it was still fabulous. I used Marie's Slaw dressing since that is what I had. Will definitely make it again and will try some of the variations mentioned here. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
this was a huge hit at my luau party - everyone wanted the recipe. I left out the raisins, but left everything else the same. I didn't tell anyone what was in it, because I had a few guests that always stay away from either pineapple or coconut, but when they went for an extra helping, I told them the ingredients, and they were totally shocked. It seemed like a strange mix of ingredients, so I was a little hesitant to make this, but not sorry now! It is just so tasty and if you bring it to a party, bring a few copies of the recipe because you will need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Great flavor. I brought this to a family reunion and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherlock

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Loved this recipie and it was sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I substituted broccoli slaw for cabbage and craisons for raisons. Made it once with slivered almonds and once with pecans - both were great. I used Marzetti's LITE, hesitantly, but it didn't matter; this was delicious. And considering it took less than five minutes to throw together, I feel this is worthy of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is an OUTSTANDING cole slaw!!! The first time I made it exactly as the recipe is written and it was wonderful. The second time I customized it to my family's taste; 1) used the prepackaged cole slaw mix that included green and red cabbage and juliened carrots, 2) added sliced green onions, 3) added mandran oranges sliced into thirds, 4) used fresh thinly sliced pineapple, 5) added cranraisins, 6) used golden raisins, 7) used sunflower seeds for the "nut" in the recipe, and lastly used "Marie's" creamy cole slaw dressing (Marie's can be found in any grocery store's cold produce section). FYI - do not "overadd" the dressing as it will lose it's crunch.... Let it sit for a couple of hours for the flavors to fully marry before serving. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States