Marzetti® Barbecue Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Everyone in my family loved this twist on coleslaw, 8 yr old and teen boys, too! I didn't use onions, used bagged coleslaw greens with carrots and added very thinly sliced red peppers. I only wish there were a low-fat or lite Marzetti's (or other) type slaw dressing available. I went very light with it, though. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
this was fab! My boyfriend who doesn't even like coleslaw enjoyed this. Made for a BBQ party, everyone liked it, I added poppy seeds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
We loved it! Used homemade dressing (my variation of the recipe from Hellmann's mayonnaise) as I find prepared cole slaw dressings much too sweet. Added Bulls Eye brand bbq sauce and chipotle powder instead of Tabasco since I thought that touch of smokiness would enhance the mixture. I soaked the thinly sliced onion (used an adjustable Kyocera ceramic mandoline for all the veggies, varying the thickness) in cold water while I prepped the other veggies, then drained them well before incorporating into the mixture, this reduces the sulfur compounds that bother my tummy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I recently served this at a large family gathering (I doubled the recipe) and it was raved about. I served 10 different dishes and this is the one that several people asked the recipe for. Only thing I did differently was used 2 bags of coleslaw mix in place of the cabbages and carrots. I will make it again, because it has already been requested for summer barbecues!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLMcKay3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this today, and I am pleasantly surprised with the results. I can see myself making this tasty dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Cali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is an excellent, fast recipe that kids love! Excellent for outside grilling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOHNSEN'S
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My kids will eat this cole slaw! It's the only one they'll eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was very good. I used homemade slaw dressing (cheaper than buying) and I didn't have any tabasco sauce. It was just fine without it. The next day, I tried it with some left-over grilled chicken in a tortilla wrap. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I prepared the veggies and then stored it, as this recipe makes a lot. I then mixed equal parts of barbeque sauce and coleslaw dressing and dressed only the amount of salad that I needed. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
You always know when you find a recipe by Marzetti, it's going to be a keeper! For a little bit of crunch, I added pignoila (pine nuts). This recipe is a good starter base for a Summer Sandwich Wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States