Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
no thanks easy, enough to make but no thanks I do not see what all the fuss is about, the taste was very disappointing, there are much better sugar cookies recipes on here, we did frost them and it was still a bland and boring cookie, sorry I do not like giving bad reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These are my family's favorite cut-out cookie and we have been making this one for over 35 years. If you leave your cookies uncovered they'll be crisp, if you seal them in a container they'll be soft and there even seems to be a taste difference between the two. The icing we use is: 1 C powdered sugar, 1/4 t salt, 1/2 t vanilla, 1 1/2 T. milk or water (Give or take - don’t want it too thick but not too thin either).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Overall a good recipe, worth using. Mine came out a little crunchy ..not soft in any extent of the word, but still good. I put frosting on mine, which made it taste that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were very tasty. Better than the other basic sugar cookie recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These cookies were perfect for making Christmas cookies with my 3 and 6 year old. They had good flavor, if just a bit too much baking soda (of course that made them have just the right kind of crispy). I was in a hurry and rolled them out a bit thick, which turned out to be a good choice. Once the kids decorated them they were just sweet enough (but a tad garish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I made up the dough last evening and refridgerated it in 2 batches. Today I set the dough out to make it more workable. I was disappointed it was slightly difficult to work. I probably added close to 1/2+ powder sugar and flour to the dough to make it stiff enough to hold the form and to transfer it to the cookie sheet. Normally 1/4 is fine, but these seem to spread too much and flattened out. The taste is good, but I like fluffier cookies. I think I'll stick with Dora's Christmas Cookies. I do like the almond extract in the dough. Personally it gives the cookies another dimension of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kissthecook
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I picked a good one. They turned out slighty chewy yet still crisp; exactly the way I wanted. They also contain that authentic sugar cookie depth of taste, probably due to the addition of almond extract. They also brown beautifully [minus the batch I accidently overcooked; oops]. Try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I roll these into balls and bake. Don't even refrigerate the dough first. Not another sugar cookie recipe on earth has this tremendous a flavor. Hands down, this recipe is the favorite of this sugar cookie fan! My coworkers beg me for these cookies frosted with a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I'm still searching for that perfect sugar cookie for cutouts! I was not impressed with this recipe. The dough wasn't easy to work with, not stiff enough, the cookies didn't hold their shape once cut & came out even worse when baking. The only good thing I can give this recipe is they do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donnalyn
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Nice sugar cookie recipe. It reminds me a lot of shortcake cookies. I accidently let it sit more than 2 hours in the fridge so I had to knead it a bit before it would roll out nice. Once it warmed up a bit it was awesome to work with. Even after kneading it, it still had a melt in your mouth texture. I made Jack O' Lantern Pumpkins for my grandson's kindergarten class. They loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donnalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States