Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great cookie! I made very thin cut-outs and they were still moist and chewy, even days after they are still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Cookies tasted good but dough was very hard to work with. It kept crumbling everytime you would try to roll it. Still on the hunt for a sugar cookie that tastes good and it easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This recipe is great. I love the flavor. Although I didn't refridgerate it. I mixed it all in my stand mixer. And when it was done it was firm enough to handle but I just dropped by cookie scoop onto cookie sheet and pressed them down with the back of a spoon. I love them. Next time I will take the time to roll them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My mother made these for eons. I remember making them with her, over 40 years ago. This sugar cookie recipe is an all time fave. Easy & breezy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The best rolled sugar cookie! I substituted 2 tsp. lemon juice for the cream of tartar. I am not fond of a strong buttery flavor so I used 1 stick of butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. I chilled the dough in the freezer for 1/2 hour and then rolled between parchment paper. After cutting out the cookies I pressed them into colored sugar that I made from the "colored sugar" recipe on this site. The end product was a very colorful sugar cookie that tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I loved loved loved this recipe. They came out perfect both times I've made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misskellyann
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I baked these cookies twice at two different cookie parties and both times they came out delicious! I'm craving them now in fact! They taste like the ones from the store that are all puffy with frosting except you know what's in them. No trans fat and chemicals. They are so good I recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskellyann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is the second years I have made these cookies, and there GREAT!. I make them just like the recipe tells ya, and their so Darn Good, that I had had Friends ask me to make them for there Christmas Holiday's, I think they Love them Cuz I'm a Guy, and they think I bake better then there wives.LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chettler
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Very good cookie. I did make one minor alteration, and added about 1/4 tsp of salt to help bring up the flavors and balance out the confectioners sugar. This cookie has great texture too. Slightly crisp on the edges and soft in the middle. What a sugar cookie should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
There's so many sugar cookie recipes out there, but this is my favorite so far! Using powdered sugar instead of regular makes them positively velvety! I found only two cons: 1) the dough is quite soft, so I usually have to work in some extra flour while I'm rolling them out, and 2)this makes a pretty delicate cookie that doesn't travel especially well--if I were making it for a potluck or something I'd probably look for a sturdier recipe. I give it five stars for flavor and texture, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States