Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Awesome! Cook 7 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I tried a couple of different sugar cookie recipes this year. This one was really good and the dough was really easy to work with - the cookies baked really well and were easy to handle and had a good texture. The only complaint I have is that the cookies tasted a little bit bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
maybe I beat the butter and sugar to much. My cookies turned out more like shortbread than sugar cookie. I wanted a softer cookie but they were harder than i expected and i did not over bake them.but i noticed about a week later after they had been sitting on my counter for a while they improved in taste and softness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
They tasted great but I had alot of sticking to the rolling pin. I ended up pushing the dough with the palm of my hand. I made the recipe twice and still had trouble rolling the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allmy4animals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was horrible!! threw it in the trash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I love this recipe. I have used it since the 70's. It is the one I used with my children and now will use it to make cutout cookies with my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is the recipe our family has been using for 40 years. It's not Christmas until we have at least one batch of trees, bells and stars. They're not overly sweet, but perfect once they're iced and decorated with sprinkles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I've been making these cookies for years. They are the family favorite for cut out cookies. I love the vanilla/almond flavor combo. I got the recipe from the Betty Crocker Cooky Book printed in the mid 1960's. I add 1/2 tsp salt and leave out the baking soda and cream of tartar so they won't change shape. I've also found it easier to divide the dough and chill it for about 15 minutes, roll each half out between sheets of parchment paper and re-chill it for about an hour. It makes cutting out the cookies easier and you can remove the excess then bake them right on the parchment paper to prevent sticking and over browning the underside. I re-chill the excess dough and start the process again when I have time. It's stays good for up to 3 days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was perfect- not too sweet and just tender enough to pass off as a shortbread. Note: I used self raising flour ( by mistake) and rolled between sheets of saran wrap. Veyr very forgiving dough as long as you chill thoroughly before and in between uses. This is a keeper. I made easily 120 mini christmas cookies for school. Will be making a second batch today. This will take nicely to a glaze icing and some colored sugar sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very easy to make. Delicious with frosting from this site. My three year old daughter helped me make these and they were easy to make. She really enjoyed helping her mama use cookie cutters. To roll them out I put them between two wax papers cause they do stick to the rolling pin. All in all a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States