Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Good recipe- just have to adjust the baking time and temp. Mine were browning around the edges after 5 minutes, making them too crunchy and hard. Sugar cookies should be tender and soft, in my opinion. After turning down the heat to 350 and baking for only 6 minutes, these were perfect. I prefer sugar cookies using powdered sugar instead of granulated- I think it makes them more soft and tender. Frosted with luscious buttercream frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
You can't go wrong with this recipe. My 3 year old and I love to decorate these soft cookies. I have made them thin AND thick and they still turn out wonderful. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly, but I omitted the almond extract. After refrigerating for a little under 4 hours, I could not get these out of the bowl. When they warmed up enough to move, they tore and flaked like crazy when I tried to roll them. I desperately tried to add a little moisture, but ended up with a big crumbly mess all over my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Did you hear that? That was the sound of me losing my mind because these cookies were so hard to roll out. I noticed the dough seemed crumbly before I had even added the full amount of dry ingredients, so I didn't add the rest of the flour. After I had chilled it and tried to roll it out, it kept breaking apart and was really REALLY difficult to roll, even after I had let it sit out and get warm. The taste was good enough, and I liked that it used powdered sugar since that was all I had on hand yesterday, but it was so tough to get it rolled and make shapes that wouldn't fall apart that I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is truly a great recipe for sugar cookies. I refrigerate the dough for 2-3 hours and it is so easy to work with. The cookies are tender and taste great! I use a confectioners sugar glaze. Also, kids love to make and eat these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My mother has made these cookies for years. They are my favorite sugar cookies. I love the hint of almond flavoring. You can also shape this dough in to a log, wrap, chill, and use as a slice and bake cookie. Dip the tops in color tinted sugar--and you have an easy treat for the kids! I also don't think you can really get 5 dozen out of this recipe--unless you roll them out super thin. I usually get about 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I bake often and I was pleased to find this easy to use recipe. I did refrigerate my dough overnight and had no problems. This is a tasty easy to use and forgiving dough. I had five grandchildren helping with each step. I did add extra flavoring tho I doubt it was needed. I will add this recipe to my personal collection. P.S. This was a child friendly recipe with just a wee bit of adult help. The wee bit would of course depend on age too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I tried these at Christmas time this year. They weren't terribly difficult to make and the dough was easy to work with (with a well-floured board and rolling pin), but this recipe only made half the amount I thought it should. The taste was okay--a little bland, but better with frosting. They also spread too much during baking, and did not hold their shape very well at all! I don't think I'll make these again; they're just too bland and crumbly. I've tried several sugar cookie recipes from this website, and one of the reviewers said she'd stick to the recipe in BHG for sugar cookie cutouts. Then I tried that recipe as well. I agree with her 100%--BHG's were exactly right, just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Classic sugar cookie. I also tried the sugar cookie drops on this site and prefer Mary's sugar cookies. I frosted with buttercreme frosting from this site. I would not recommend refrigerating overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The Best cutout cookies I've ever made. They melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States