Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Perfect recipe! These made the perfect cookies--soft without being chewy, with a lovely melt-in-your-mouth texture. I topped with buttercream icing and they were terrific, I love the almond flavor. I'm not sure why some have had problems with this recipe but I would say to make sure the powdered sugar you measure is already sifted, rather than taking a cup and a half of packed powdered sugar and THEN sifting it, or you could end up with too much. And to keep them soft make sure you don't roll them out too thin, these do need to be rolled out a bit thicker than most sugar cookies. The only problem I had was that this didn't make anywhere NEAR as many cookies as the recipe said it would, but the ones I did have were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Excellent! Everyone loved them. They don't even need icing. I thought they were better without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
wow amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Good recipe- just have to adjust the baking time and temp. Mine were browning around the edges after 5 minutes, making them too crunchy and hard. Sugar cookies should be tender and soft, in my opinion. After turning down the heat to 350 and baking for only 6 minutes, these were perfect. I prefer sugar cookies using powdered sugar instead of granulated- I think it makes them more soft and tender. Frosted with luscious buttercream frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
You can't go wrong with this recipe. My 3 year old and I love to decorate these soft cookies. I have made them thin AND thick and they still turn out wonderful. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly, but I omitted the almond extract. After refrigerating for a little under 4 hours, I could not get these out of the bowl. When they warmed up enough to move, they tore and flaked like crazy when I tried to roll them. I desperately tried to add a little moisture, but ended up with a big crumbly mess all over my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Did you hear that? That was the sound of me losing my mind because these cookies were so hard to roll out. I noticed the dough seemed crumbly before I had even added the full amount of dry ingredients, so I didn't add the rest of the flour. After I had chilled it and tried to roll it out, it kept breaking apart and was really REALLY difficult to roll, even after I had let it sit out and get warm. The taste was good enough, and I liked that it used powdered sugar since that was all I had on hand yesterday, but it was so tough to get it rolled and make shapes that wouldn't fall apart that I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is truly a great recipe for sugar cookies. I refrigerate the dough for 2-3 hours and it is so easy to work with. The cookies are tender and taste great! I use a confectioners sugar glaze. Also, kids love to make and eat these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
My mother has made these cookies for years. They are my favorite sugar cookies. I love the hint of almond flavoring. You can also shape this dough in to a log, wrap, chill, and use as a slice and bake cookie. Dip the tops in color tinted sugar--and you have an easy treat for the kids! I also don't think you can really get 5 dozen out of this recipe--unless you roll them out super thin. I usually get about 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I bake often and I was pleased to find this easy to use recipe. I did refrigerate my dough overnight and had no problems. This is a tasty easy to use and forgiving dough. I had five grandchildren helping with each step. I did add extra flavoring tho I doubt it was needed. I will add this recipe to my personal collection. P.S. This was a child friendly recipe with just a wee bit of adult help. The wee bit would of course depend on age too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States