Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Every year I make a different sugar cookies recipe. I think I finally found one I'll stick with. This dough was easy to work with. I made the dough on Sunday, but wasn't able to get to the baking and it kept until Thursday. Tasted a little like my Nana's cookies which I don't have a recipe for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Versatile recipe. Not the best I've ever had, but not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Love these cookies! They're a big hit! I had to add some more flour to the dough but these cookies are definitely worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayalicious

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I thought these were excellent! I only chilled the dough for an hour (ran out of time), but they were perfect! You can make them a little thick if you enjoy soft cookies or roll them out thin if you like them crispy. I followed one reviewers advice and used a heavily-floured surface - it worked! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Svensson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Some of the tastiest sugar cookies I've ever made. These literally melt in your mouth. Thanks for taking time out to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe! The dough was dry but, I do not mind that. I just add water a little at a time until it is right. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These are OK. If your looking for puffy and soft cut-out cookies I'd keep looking. The flavor is great. Maybe I'll keep this in mind for a sandwich cookie or something!?! The dough is very hard to work with. It crumbles easily, so roll out between wax paper. I hope everyone else has better luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I'm so happy to see this posted - it's from the Betty Crocker Cookie Book that my mom had way back in the 60s. I have since been able to get a copy because it's back in print, but my recipe card with this recipe is really well used and I have no intention of getting rid of it! These cookies are the ones that my family looks especially forward to...I didn't have time to do them last year and they were so disappointed! Now, even my nieces are making them for their own families, carrying on a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
this recipe is okay. It takes at least a cup more flour than is listed. I would not bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made these this morning and I got 2 dozen plus 4 cookies from it. Granted the size of the cutters and the thickness you roll it out to will make the count vary. I had no almond extract so I used extra vanilla (Which I love anyway) but I did find that I needed to add more liquid to turn it in to any kind of dough. I had no milk so I added about 3 or so Tablespoons of apple cider and presto! Cookie dough! I did NOT chill it as it was just right to handle right then. They baked up well in a 35o' oven. Without frosting, they have a nice flavor to go along with a hot cup of tea, but I am a frosting freak so I will frost the rest. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States