Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Jacki_In_Simi
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I'm so happy to see this posted - it's from the Betty Crocker Cookie Book that my mom had way back in the 60s. I have since been able to get a copy because it's back in print, but my recipe card with this recipe is really well used and I have no intention of getting rid of it! These cookies are the ones that my family looks especially forward to...I didn't have time to do them last year and they were so disappointed! Now, even my nieces are making them for their own families, carrying on a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
this recipe is okay. It takes at least a cup more flour than is listed. I would not bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made these this morning and I got 2 dozen plus 4 cookies from it. Granted the size of the cutters and the thickness you roll it out to will make the count vary. I had no almond extract so I used extra vanilla (Which I love anyway) but I did find that I needed to add more liquid to turn it in to any kind of dough. I had no milk so I added about 3 or so Tablespoons of apple cider and presto! Cookie dough! I did NOT chill it as it was just right to handle right then. They baked up well in a 35o' oven. Without frosting, they have a nice flavor to go along with a hot cup of tea, but I am a frosting freak so I will frost the rest. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
These cookies were a big success with my friends. I didn't have almond extract, but as it was Halloween I put in a little Pumpkin Pie spice which made for a nice flavour. Not too sweet, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIECHICK
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This is my first departure from our family recipe for thin cut-outs which I usually prefer. These cookies had a very nice flavor and were best not over browned. I use a baking stone and they seemed best at 7-8 minutes. This is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
For not having to roll out, these were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Perfect recipe! These made the perfect cookies--soft without being chewy, with a lovely melt-in-your-mouth texture. I topped with buttercream icing and they were terrific, I love the almond flavor. I'm not sure why some have had problems with this recipe but I would say to make sure the powdered sugar you measure is already sifted, rather than taking a cup and a half of packed powdered sugar and THEN sifting it, or you could end up with too much. And to keep them soft make sure you don't roll them out too thin, these do need to be rolled out a bit thicker than most sugar cookies. The only problem I had was that this didn't make anywhere NEAR as many cookies as the recipe said it would, but the ones I did have were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Excellent! Everyone loved them. They don't even need icing. I thought they were better without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
wow amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Good recipe- just have to adjust the baking time and temp. Mine were browning around the edges after 5 minutes, making them too crunchy and hard. Sugar cookies should be tender and soft, in my opinion. After turning down the heat to 350 and baking for only 6 minutes, these were perfect. I prefer sugar cookies using powdered sugar instead of granulated- I think it makes them more soft and tender. Frosted with luscious buttercream frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States