Mary's Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and the mixture was too dry and crumbly and could not be rolled out. Maybe another egg would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Chabot
Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made these for valentines day and they were great! I divided the dough in four and kept them refrigerated until I needed them as the dough softens up very fast. On my cookie stone they took 9 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have made this cookie for over 50 years and it is the best recipe ever! Everyone who eats them asks for the recipe. I won't even try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JESSEMOM
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
These are amazing. They turned out perfectly. I'd say these are my favorite cookie I've ever made. I don't care for chocolate! Or cookies really. But I bought a new "Dove" cookie cutter so I was motivated! I sprinkled some sugar sprinkles on some of them, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good cookie and flavor was not too over bearing. I refrigerated the dough over night because I ran out of time to roll them out. I was afraid it was going to be too hard and dried to make a good cookie, but after it warmed a little bit I was able to roll it out. The cookie was not too soft it fell apart or to hard. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bishop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I've made this recipe the past few years for my annual Christmas sugar cookie decorating party. They are absolutely delicious and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is the first time that I have wrote a review on here. I had to give this recipe a 5 star rating ! The edges were crisp and the cookie tasted like perfection !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Hands down, this is our favorite sugar cookie recipe. We always leave out the almond extract though. For variety, sometimes we put one TB of orange zest in the dough. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made a batch yesterday and it was exactly what I was looking for. I usually make a thin crispy cut out and decorate with colored sugars. My husband was crying for a "real" cut out with frosting this year. So, I was looking for a recipe that was not too thin and crispy and that was not too thick and chewy, something right in between. This recipe completely fits the bill! After making the dough, I flattened it out with my palms and wrapped in plastic and chilled for an hour. My fridge runs super cold, so when I pulled the dough out, it was def. too hard to work with. Just cut the flattened dough in half and let it warm up a little before rolling. I had absolutely no issues with flaking, cracking or stickiness. I use a rolling cloth with a dusting of flour and use a rolling sock on my roller. Works perfectly. You do need to roll a little thicker than usual, and I only baked the cookies for about a 6 minutes. You do not want them to brown at all. I also use parchment instead of spray, I let the cookies sit for a minute to stabilize before moving to a wire rack. easy peasy, they moved perfectly. These cookies are a little crispy on the outside, but tender on the inside and taste delish!! I frosted with a standard buttercream that hardens on the surface but stays melt in your mouth inside. YUM!! I used standard size Christmas cutters and it made 60 cookies. Excellent and exactly, exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
We never make any sugar cookies but these, and they always get rave reviews! Be sure to use unsalted butter...salted butter significantly changes the taste, in my opinion, and margarine causes the cookies to be too soft and spread out too much in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States